Roadside picks up 'Winter's Bone'

Drama follows teen looking for her missing father

Roadside Attractions has acquired North American rights to "Winter's Bone" a dark thriller from director Debra Granik.

The dramatic competition entry premiered last Saturday afternoon at the Eccles Theatre and has been a quiet favorite of Sundance audiences ever since. Some have it handicapped for awards consideration from the Sundance jury, which will hand out honors Saturday night.

The film follows a 17-year-old girl in the Ozark wilderness struggling with a hostile criminal underworld as she looks for her missing father, who has put up the family homestead for his bail. Roadside plans a theatrical release this summer, with Lionsgate handling ancillaries later in the year.

More Sundance coverage  
Roadside's Dustin Smith and Howard Cohen handled negotiations for the distributor, and Josh Braun and Jason Janego of Submarine Entertainment repped the filmmakers in the deal.

"With 'Winter's Bone,' Debra Granik has crafted a classic detective story, a nail-biting thriller and an unbelievably touching family drama, all in one film," said Smith. "It's everything Sundance is about. It's everything independent film is about. And it's everything I go to the movies for."

Adapted from the novel by Missouri-based author Daniel Woodrell, the film was produced by Anonymous Content and Winter's Bone Prods. Anne Rosellini co-wrote the screenplay with Granik, whose 2004 Sundance entry "Down to the Bone," won two jury prizes. Rosellini produced along with Alix Madigan; Jonathan Scheuer and Shawn Simon are executive producers.

In the last few years, Roadside Attractions has released festival standouts "Super Size Me," "The Cove," "The Stoning of Soraya M." and "Good Hair." The company has "The Joneses," "Happy Tears" and "The Good Guy" set for release in theaters later this year.

A complete list of winners can be found on the next page.

2010 Sundance Film Festival Award Winners

Grand Jury Prize: Documentary
"Restrepo," directed by Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington

Grand Jury Prize: Dramatic
"Winter's Bone," directed by Debra Granik; written by Granik and Anne Rosellini

World Cinema Jury Prize: Documentary
"The Red Chapel " (Det Rode Kapel), directed by Mads Brugger

World Cinema Jury Prize: Dramatic
"Animal Kingdom," written and directed by

Audience Award: Documentary
"Waiting for Superman," directed by Davis Guggenheim

Audience Award: Dramatic
"HappyThankYouMorePlease," written and directed by Josh Radnor

World Cinema Audience Award: Documentary
"Wasteland," directed by Lucy Walker

World Cinema Audience Award: Dramatic
"Contracorriente" (Undertow), written  and directed by Javier Fuentes-Leon

Best of NEXT
"Homewrecker," directed by Todd Barnes and Brad Barnes; written by Todd Barnes, Brad Barnes, and Sophie Goodhart

Directing Award: Documentary
"Smash His Camera," directed by Leon Gast

Directing Award: Dramatic
"3 Backyards," directed and written by Eric Mendelsohn

World Cinema Directing Award: Documentary
"Space Tourists," directed by Christian Frei

World Cinema Directing Award: Dramatic
"Southern District, directed and written  by Juan Carlos Valdivia

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award
"Winter's Bone," directed by Debra Granik; written by Granik and Anne Rosellini

World Cinema Screenwriting Award
"Southern District," written and directed by  Juan Carlos Valdivia

Documentary Editing Award
"Joan Rivers -- A Piece Of Work," edited by Penelope Falk; directed by Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award
"A Film Unfinished," written and directed by Yael Hersonski
Edited by Joelle Alexis

Excellence in Cinematography Award: Documentary
"The Oath," directed by Laura Poitras
Cinematographers: Kirsten Johnson and Laura Poitras

Excellence in Cinematography Award: Dramatic
"Obselidia," written and directed by Diane Bell
Cinematographer: Zak Mulligan

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Documentary
"His & Hers," directed by Ken Wardrop.
Cinematographers: Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle

World Cinema Cinematography Award: Dramatic
"The Man Next Door" (El Hombre de al Lado), directors and cinematographers Mariano Cohn and Gaston Duprat

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic for Breakout Performance
Tatiana Maslany, "Grown Up Movie Star"

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary
"Enemies of the People," directed by Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath

Special Jury Prize: Documentary
"GASLAND," directed by Josh Fox

Special Jury Prize: Dramatic
"Sympathy for Delicious," directed by Mark Ruffalo; written by and starring Christopher Thornton

Jury Prize in Short Filmmaking
"Drunk History: Douglass & Lincoln," directed by Jeremy Konner

Jury Prize in International Short Filmmaking
"The Six Dollar Fifty Man," directed and written by Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland

Honorable Mentions in Short Filmmaking
"Born Sweet ," directed by Cynthia Wade
"Can We Talk?" directed and written by Jim Owen
"Dock Ellis & The LSD No-No," directed by James Blagden "How I Met Your Father," directed and written by Alex Montoya
"Quadrangle," directed by Amy Grappell
"Rob and Valentyna in Scotland," directed by Eric Lynne; written by Lynne and Rob Chester Smith
"Young Love," directed and written by Ariel Kleiman

Alfred P. Sloan Prize
"Obselidia," written and directed by Diane Bell

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Awards
Amat Escalante, "Heli," from Mexico
Andrey Zvyagintsev, "Elena,"from Russia
Daisuke Yamaoka, "The Wonderful Lives at Asahigaoka," (written with Yugo Eto), from Japan
Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild," (written with Lucy Alibar), from the United States
comments powered by Disqus