Robert A. Daly elected AFI board chairman

Howard Stringer remains head of board of trustees

Robert A. Daly, the former Warners chairman and CEO, has been elected chair of the American Film Institute board of directors. He succeeds Jon Avnet and John Cooke, who co-chaired the board for the past eight years.

The board of directors acts as an executive committee, setting the AFI's priorities and overseeing its programs.

Sony chairman and CEO Howard Stringer remains chair of the AFI board of trustees.

Avnet and Cooke remain on the board of directors, and Avnet also continues as vice-chair of the trustees.

Also voted to return to the board of trustees are Robert Bennett, Allen Bernstein, Richard Frank, Kathleen Kennedy, John Hendricks, Barry Meyer, Leslie Moonves, Jill Sackler, and Steven Spielberg.

DGA president Taylor Hackford, SAG president Ken Howard, AFI Associates president Barbara Phillips, AMPAS president Tom Sherak, and WGA West president John Wells were all appointed as ex-officio members of the AFI trustees.

AFI trustees must rotate off the board for at least one year after serving three three-year terms, at which time they are eligible to be reelected for a three-year term.