Roger Corman to Receive the George Eastman Award

Larry Busacca/Getty Images
Roger Corman

The honor will be presented to him Nov. 2 in Rochester, N.Y.

Producer-director Roger Corman will receive the George Eastman House’s highest honor, the George Eastman Award, at a ceremony to be held Nov. 2 at the Dryden Theatre in Rochester, N.Y.

Established in 1955, the retrospective film award will recognize Corman’s contribution to the art of film. Previous honorees have included Charles Chaplin, Cecil B. DeMille, Gary Cooper, Gregory Peck, Jimmy Stewart, Audrey Hepburn, Kim Novak, Martin Scorsese, Meryl Streep and Richard Gere.

“We are proud and honored to recognize Roger Corman’s outstanding contribution to the art of film,” Paolo Cherchi Usai, senior curator of motion pictures, George Eastman House, said. “We are doing so as a long overdue tribute to a true master of cinema—a master in the literal sense of the term. As a producer and director, Corman has forever changed the landscape of American independent cinema, which is why he amply deserves the George Eastman Award.”