Roger Deakins to receive Tesla Award

Prize honors influential people in filmed entertainment

Cinematographer Roger Deakins will be the recipient of the International Press Academy's 2009 Nikola Tesla Award in recognition of visionary achievement in filmmaking technology.

The award will be presented at the 14th annual Satellite Awards on Dec. 20 in Los Angeles.

Deakins has received eight Academy Award nominations for his cinematography, including two in 2007 for "No Country for Old Men" and "The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford."

First presented in 2001, the Tesla Award recognizes individuals who have influenced the way filmed entertainment has evolved.

Deakins previously earned a Satellite Award for "O Brother, Where Art Thou?" as well as a Satellite nom for "Jesse James."