'Rose,' 'Secret' get 11 Cesar noms


PARIS -- Olivier Dahan's Edith Piaf biopic "La Vie en Rose" was in tune with Claude Miller's Holocaust drama "A Secret" on Friday as both films nabbed 11 nominations for France's top film honors, the Cesar Awards.

"Rose" and "Secret" will compete for the title of French film of the year with Abdellatif Kechiche's immigrant drama "The Secret of the Grain," Marjan Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud's animated hit "Persepolis" and Julian Schnabel's "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," which dove into the nominee pool with a total of seven nods.

"Butterfly" star Mathieu Amalric was nominated for best actor for his role as paralyzed Elle editor Dominique Bauby. Amalric will vie against Gallic cinema veterans Michel Blanc (Andre Techine's "The Witnesses"), Vincent Lindon (Anne le Ny's "Those Who Remain"), Jean-Pierre Darroussin (Jean Becker's "Conversations with my Gardener") and Jean-Pierre Marielle (Noemie Lvovsky's "Let's Dance!").

Marion Cotillard, fresh from her Golden Globe win and Oscar nomination, will compete for the best actress title alongside "Secret" star Cecile de France, Isabelle Carre (Michel Spinoza's "Anna M."), Marina Fois (Christine Carriere's "Darling") and Catherine Frot ("Odette Toulemonde").

Dahan, Miller, Schnabel, Kechiche and Techine will vie for the best director prize.

Dahan's "Rose" was selected in the best original screenplay category alongside Kechiche's "The Secret of the Grain," Julie Delpy's cross-cultural comedy "2 Days in Paris," Anne le Ny's "Those Who Remain" and Laurent Tirard and Gregoire Vigneron's "Moliere"; while "Secret," "Butterfly," "Persepolis" and "Darling" will compete with Claude Berri's "Hunting and Gathering" in the best adaptation category.

"Secret's" Julie Depardieu and Ludivine Sagnier will contend for the supporting actress prize with Noemie Lvovsky (Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi's "Actresses"), Bulle Ogier (Lvovsky's "Let's Dance!") and Sylvie Testud ("Rose").

The nominees for best supporting actor are Sami Bouajila ("The Witnesses"), Pascal Greggory ("La Vie en Rose"), Michael Lonsdale ("The Human Question"), Fabrice Luchini ("Moliere") and Laurent Stocker ("Hunting and Gathering").

Christian Mungiu's Palm d'Or winner at last year's Festival de Cannes "4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days," Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck's "The Lives of Others," Fatih Akin's "On the Other Side," David Cronenberg's "Eastern Promises" and James Gray's "We Own the Night" will compete for best foreign-language film.

The Academy of Cinema Arts and Techniques added a new documentary category last year. This year's second annual award in that category will be a toss-up between Barbet Schroeder's "Terror's Advocate," Gilles de Maistre's "The First Cry," Nicolas Philibert's "Return to Normandy" and Christian Rouaud's "Le Lip, l'imagination au pouvoir."

Veteran actor Jean Rochefort announced the nominees at a press conference at Paris' legendary Fouquet's restaurant. "I'll try to make this amusing," Rochefort said before proceeding.

Actor Antoine de Caunes will preside over the 33rd annual Cesar Awards ceremony Feb. 22 at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris. It will be broadcast live on Canal Plus.

Full nomination list on next page.

"The Secret of the Grain," Abdellatif Kechiche
"La Vie en Rose," Olivier Dahan
"Persepolis," Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud
"The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," Julian Schnabel
"A Secret," Claude Miller

Olivier Dahan, "La Vie en Rose"
Abdellatif Kechiche, "The Secret of the Grain"
Claude Miller, "A Secret"
Julian Schnabel, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"
Andre Techine, "The Witnesses"

Mathieu Amalric, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"
Michel Blanc, "The Witnesses"
Jean-Pierre Darroussin, "Conversations with my Gardener"
Vincent Lindon, "Those Who Remain"
Jean-Pierre Marielle, "Let's Dance!"

Marion Cotillard, "La Vie en Rose"
Cecile de France, "A Secret"
Catherine Frot, "Odette Toulemonde"
Isabelle Carre, "Anna M."
Marina Fois, "Darling"


Olivier Dahan, "La Vie en Rose"
Abdellatif Kechiche, "The Secret of the Grain"
Julie Delpy, "2 Days in Paris"
Anne le Ny, "Those Who Remain"
Laurent Tirard and Gregoire Vigneron, "Moliere"

Claude Berri, "Hunting & Gathering"
Christine Carriere, "Darling"
Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud, "Persepolis"
Claude Miller and Nathalie Carter, "A Secret"
Ronald Harwood, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"


Sami Bouajila, "The Witnesses"
Pascal Greggory, "La Vie en Rose"
Michael Lonsdale, "The Human Question"
Fabrice Luchini, "Moliere"
Laurent Stocker, "Hunting & Gathering"

Julie Depardieu, "A Secret"
Noemie Lvovsky, "Actresses"
Bulle Ogier, "Let's Dance!"
Ludivine Sagnier, "A Secret "
Sylvie Testud, "La Vie en Rose"


Nicolas Cazale, "The Grocer's Son"
Gregoire Leprince-Ringuet, "Love Songs"
Johan Libereau, "The Witnesses"
Jocelyn Quivrin, "99 Francs"
Laurent Stocker, "Hunting & Gathering"


Louise Blachere, "Water Lilies"
Audrey Dana, "Crossed Tracks"
Adele Haenel, "Water Lilies"
Hafsia Herzi, "The Secret of the Grain"
Clotilde Hesme, "Love Songs"


"Those Who Remain," Anne le Ny
"Just about love?," Lola Doillon
"Water Lilies," Celine Sciamma
"Persepolis," Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud
"All is Forgiven," Mia Hansen-Love

"Terror's Advocate," Barbet Schroeder
"Animals in Love," Laurent Charbonnier
"Les Lip, l'imagination au pouvoir," Christian Rouaud
"The First Cry," Gilles de Maistre
"Return to Normandy," Nicolas Philibert

Yves Angelo, "The Second Wind"
Gerard de Battista, "A Secret"
Giovanni Fiore Coltellacci, "Intimate Enemies"
Janusz Kaminski, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"
Tetsuo Nagata, "La Vie en Rose"

Antoine Deflandre, Germain Boulay and Eric Tisserand, "Intimate Enemies"
Guillaume Le Braz, Valerie Deloof, Agnes Ravez and Thierry Delor, "Love Songs"
Thierry Lebon, Eric Chevallier and Samy Bardet, "Persepolis"
Jean-Paul Mugel, Francis Wargnier and Dominique Gaborieau, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"
Laurent Zeilig, Pascal Villard and Jean-Paul Hurier, "La Vie en Rose"

Alex Beaupain, "Love Songs"
Olivier Bernet, "Persepolis"
Alexandre Desplat, "Intimate Enemies"
Zbigniew Preisner, "A Secret"
Archie Shepp, "Let's Dance!"

Francoise Dupertuis, "Moliere"
Thierry Flamand (ADC), "The Second Wind"
Jean-Pierre Kohut Svelko, "A Secret"
Christian Marti, "Jacquou le Croquant"
Olivier Raoux, "La Vie en Rose"

Marit Allen, "La Vie en Rose"
Jacqueline Bouchard, "A Secret"
Corinne Jorry, "The Second Wind"
Pierre-Jean Larroque, "Moliere"
Jean-Daniel Vuillermoz, "Jacquou le Croquant"

Ghalya Lacroix and Camille Toubkis, "The Secret of the Grain"
Veronique Lange, "A Secret"
Richard Marizy and Yves Beloniak, "La Vie en Rose"
Stephane Roche, "Persepolis"
Juliette Welfling, "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly"

"Deweneti," Dyana Gaye
"Le Mozart des pickpockets," Philippe Pollet-Villard
"Premier Voyage," Gregoire Sivan
"La promenade," Marina de Van
"Rachel," Frederic Mermoud

"4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days," Christian Mungiu
"On the Other Side," Fatih Akin
"We Own the Night," James Gray
"Eastern Promises" David Cronenberg
"The Lives of Others," Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck