'Rose' takes top prize at German TV awards


COLOGNE, Germany -- Public broadcaster ARD was the big winner at Saturday's German TV Awards, the local equivalent of the Emmys, taking home 10 trophies including the top prize for best TV movie or miniseries for the family comedy "Rose."

ARD productions also grabbed two of the other top prizes, with Maria Furtwangler taking the Best Actress award for her performance in long-running detective series "Crime Scene: The Nameless Girl" and Lars Kraume winning Best Director for the ARD drama "Guten
Morgen, Herr Grothe."

ARD's epic miniseries "March of Millions," about the millions of German refugees who fled the advance of the Russian army at the end of WWII, won three awards, including Best Music, Best Set Design and Best Supporting Actor for Gabriela Maria Schmeide.

The Best Actor nod went to Matthias Koeberlin for his starring role in the disaster film "Tornado," which aired on commercial channel ProSieben. Pro7 took home a total of four German TV Awards, including best entertainment format for "Beat Your Host." ParaMedia
Inc. has acquired U.S. remake rights to the format, in which a celebrity host competes against an audience member in a series of physical and mental competitions.

ProSieben was the strongest of the Germany's commercial channels Saturday night but they couldn't compete with the public broadcasters. Coming in second after ARD was public channel ZDF with 5 awards. Commercial networks Sat.1 and RTL won just two prizes
each with Cologne-based channel Vox winning one.

The most touching moment at this years' award was when German producer and director Nico Hoffmann, whose productions took home a total of 6 prizes on Saturday, presented the lifetime achievement award to German actor Gotz George.

One of Germany's best-known actors, George played the title character in the long-running detective drama "Schimanski" and has won numerous prizes for his film and TV work, including three German Film awards for Best Actor.

Calling the 70-year-old George "the last rebel" in the German TV business, Hofmann said the actor feels his way into his roles "with all his body and soul."

The winners:

Best TV Movie: "Rose" (ARD)
Best actress: Maria Furtwangler "Crime Scene: The Nameless Girl" (ARD)
Best actor: Matthias Koeberlin "Tornado" (ProSieben)
Best Director: Lars Kraume "Guten Morgen, Herr Grothe" (ARD)
Best TV Series: "KDD – Kriminaldauerdienst" (ZDF)
Best Entertainment Format: "Beat Your Host" (ProSieben)
Best News Format: "RTL Aktuell" (RTL)
Best News Anchor: Reinhold Beckmann" (ARD)
Best Documentary: "Im Schatten der Blutrache" (ARD)
Best Report: "Der Gotteskrieger und seine Frau" (ARD)
Best Sportscast: "Blut und Spiele" (ARD)
Program Trends 2007, Coaching and Cooking: "Das perfekte Dinner", VOX and "Die Super Nanny" (RTL)
Best newcomers: Randa Chahoud, Dennis Jacobsen, Oliver Jahn ("Ijon Tichy: Raumpilot", ZDF) and Franz Dinda "Blackout" (Sat.1)
Best Sitcom and Best Screenplay: "Stromberg" (ProSieben)
Best Camera and Best Editor: "Sperling und die kalte Angst" (ZDF)
Best Supporting Actor, Best Set Design and Best Music: "March of Millions" (ARD)
Special Award: Michael Schumacher
Lifetime Achievement Award: Gotz George (Actor)