Royal treatment: 'Tudors,' 'Kings' big IFTA winners

'Garage' earns best film, director

"The Tudors" reigned supreme at the fifth annual Irish Film & Television Awards in Dublin on Sunday night, walking away with seven IFTAs, the most any single TV or film title has earned in the award's five-year history.

The Showtime series about the life of King Henry VIII won the best drama series/soap award, while actors Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Maria Doyle Kennedy and Nick Dunning also won IFTA statues.

"Tudors" costume designer Joan Bergin, production designer Tom Conroy and hair and makeup team Jennifer Hegarty and Dee Corcoran also were winners on the night.

On the feature film side, a strongly contested race saw "Kings" and "Garage" emerge as the top winners, with five and four awards, respectively.

Irish-language drama "Kings" dominated the craft categories, taking nods for original score, sound and editing, among others, while "Garage" picked up the IFTAs for best film, director (Lenny Abrahamson), script (Mark O'Halloran) and actor in a lead role (Pat Shortt).

Writer/director team O'Halloran and Abrahamson also earned the top writing and directing kudos on the TV side for their urban drama series "Prosperity." Irish-language series "The Running Mate" took the best single drama award.

Mel Gibson was presented with the Outstanding Contribution to World Cinema Award and rec-eived a standing ovation. Gibson, of Irish descent, shot 1995's "Braveheart" in Ireland.

The best international actress award went to Hilary Swank for "P.S. I Love You," filmed in Ireland and based on a novel by Cecilia Aherne, daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (prime minister).

Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck's "The Lives of Others" was named best international film, and Daniel Day-Lewis took the international actor nod for "There Will Be Blood."

Young Irish actress Saoirse Ronan was another standout winner, taking the supporting actress film and the Irish Film Board Rising Star awards for her role in multiple Oscar nominee "Atonement." Irish cinematographer Seamus McGarvey was honored for his lifetime's work behind the camera.

The awards took place at Dublin's historic and recently renovated Gaiety Theatre.

A complete list of winners is available at