Russia's 'Beanpole' Wins Best International Feature at Palm Springs Film Festival

Beanpole Still - H - 2019
Non-Stop Production

Meanwhile, Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-Won received the FIPRESCI prize for best international screenplay for the dark family farce 'Parasite.'

Kantemir Balagov's war drama Beanpole on Saturday was awarded the FIPRESCI prize for best international feature film at the 31st annual Palm Springs International Film Festival, which revealed this year's juried award winners during a luncheon at the Hilton Palm Springs.

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-Won received the FIPRESCI prize for best international screenplay for the dark family farce Parasite, while a special mention was given to Sophie Deraspe's Canadian crime drama Antigone

Peruvian director Melina León was presented the New Voices/New Visions Award, which recognizes unique viewpoints from first- or second-time filmmakers, for her investigative drama Song Without a Name. The film follows the search for a newborn daughter stolen at a fake health clinic. 

The local jury award, given to a project that promotes understanding and acceptance between people, was given to the Moroccan film Adam, directed by Maryam Touzani. 

Among the performance categories, Bartosz Bielenia was tapped as best actor in an international feature film for his role in Jan Komasa's spiritual drama Corpus Christi, which follows a reformed criminal prevented from applying to the seminary upon his release, while Helena Zengel was named best actress for her role in Nora Fingscheidt's character-driven drama System Crasher, a study on the untamed energy of a 9-year-old girl on a quest for love.

The festival, which is set to conclude Monday, screened 192 films from 81 countries. 

A list of award winners is below. 

FIPRESCI Prize for Best International Feature Film of the Year
Beanpole (Russia), director: Kantemir Balagov

FIPRESCI Prize for Best Actor in an International Feature Film
Bartosz Bielenia in Corpus Christi (Poland)

FIPRESCI Prize for Best Actress in an International Feature Film
Helena Zengel in System Crasher (Germany)

FIPRESCI Prize for International Screenplay
Parasite (South Korea), screenwriters: Bong Joon-Ho and Han Jin-Won

Special Mention
Antigone (Canada), screenwriter: Sophie Deraspe

New Voices/New Visions Award
Song Without a Name (Peru/Spain/USA/Chile), director: Melina León

The Documentary Award
Talking About Trees (France/Sudan/Germany/Chad/Qatar), director: Suhaib Gasmelbari

Ibero-American Award
Monos (Colombia), director: Alejandro Landes.

Special Mention
Workforce (Mexico), director: David Zonana

Local Jury Award
Adam (Morocco), director: Maryam Touzani

Young Cineastes Award
Corpus Christi (Poland), Director: Jan Komasa

GoEnergistics (GoE) Bridging the Borders Award
Advocate (Israel/Canada/Switzerland), directors: Rachel Leah Jones, Philippe Bellaiche

Special Mention
The Australian Dream (Australia), director: Daniel Gordon

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature
Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom (Bhutan), Director Pawo Choyning Dorji

Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature 
Gay Chorus Deep South (USA), Director David Charles Rodrigues

Jan. 13, 6:45 p.m. Updated with two additional Audience Award winners