SAG-AFTRA New York Local President Mike Hodge Reelected

Stephen Lovekin/Getty Images
Mike Hodge

Hodge defeated national co-president Roberta Reardon by 118 votes to win the hotly-contested race.

SAG-AFTRA’s New York Local members re-elected Mike Hodge for a two-year term as New York Local president, the union announced Friday. Hodge received 3,121 votes (50.96 percent) with SAG-AFTRA current co-president Roberta Reardon receiving 3,003 votes (49.04 percent).

The results of the tight and closely watched race gives Hodge a launching pad to run for executive vice president at the union’s convention, should he choose to do so. Reardon has already said she’ll run, setting up the possibility of a Reardon-Hodge rematch. Newly re-elected union president Ken Howard has said he won’t endorse Reardon.

“I want to express my sincere thanks to all the members who made their voices heard by voting in our historic first SAG-AFTRA election” Hodge said. “It was a vigorous campaign and I'm grateful that N.Y. members have elected me to lead our local.”

Jay Potter, Jim Kerr, Maureen Donnelly and Holter Graham were elected as vps.

Elected as national board members from New York were Mike Hodge, Roberta Reardon, Linda Powell, Maureen Donnelly, Samantha Mathis, Jay Potter, Rebecca Damon, Liz Zazzi, Holter Graham, Ezra Knight, Anne Gartlan, Polly Adams, Leslie Shreve, Christine Nagy, Janice Pendarvis and Jeff Spurgeon.

Also elected were New York Local board members and New York delegates to the union’s September convention. A list showing the vote tallies is here.

Bookmark The Hollywood Reporter’s Labor Page for the most in-depth coverage of entertainment unions and guilds.

E-mail: jhandel99 at gmail dot com
Twitter: @jhandel