SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris Running for Re-Election

Getty Images
Gabrielle Carteris

She faces two candidates with roots in an opposing slate.

SAG-AFTRA president Gabrielle Carteris (Beverly Hills, 90210), who tops the Unite for Strength slate, is running for re-election, UFS announced Wednesday.

The move was expected, and will be the first time Carteris stands for election by the entire membership. She was elected to the post a year ago by a unanimous vote of the national board to fill out the late Ken Howard's term, after serving as the union's executive vp, a position elected at SAG-AFTRA's biennial convention.

Carteris will be running against at least two already announced candidates, Membership First's Esai Morales and former MF member Pete Antico.

"It has been my great honor to serve as your president, pressing forward and leading the vital work of SAG-AFTRA, the world's most powerful entertainment union," said Carteris. "We must be responsive to our members' needs, whatever the platform, whatever their work, wherever they live. Whether it's negotiating new contracts, organizing Telemundo, standing up for a fair Interactive agreement or keeping our ages off of IMDb, the work of SAG-AFTRA never stops."

For secretary-treasurer, UFS is putting forward Jason George (Grey's Anatomy), a longtime national board member and chair of the union'’s diversity committee. He's running against the incumbent, MF's Jane Austin.

"In addition to safeguarding our union's fiscal security," said George, "I will prepare SAG-AFTRA for our rapidly evolving industry by focusing on enforcement and digital innovations that reduce costly mistakes and improve timely and accurate payments to our members."

Carteris chaired the union's negotiating committee in the TV/theatrical contract negotiations with the studios that concluded last week.

UFS and the affiliated, New York-based United Screen Actors Nationwide will also field slates of candidates vying for open positions as national and local board members and as delegates to the third SAG-AFTRA National Convention, to be held in Los Angeles in October. Election ballots will be mailed to members July 25 and will be tabulated Aug. 24.

Endorsing Carteris and George are Octavia Spencer, Alec Baldwin, Rita Moreno, Jane Lynch, Noah Wyle, Margo Martindale, Regina King, Michael Cudlitz, Keith David, John Cho, Phylicia Rashad, Robert Patrick, Stephen Lang and Luke Perry.

Also endorsing Carteris and George are elected SAG-AFTRA leaders from all 25 locals and national officers, including executive vp Rebecca Damon, national vp for Los Angeles Clyde Kusatsu, New York president Mike Hodge, national vp for small locals David Hartley-Margolin, national vp for actors/performers Samantha Mathis, national vp for broadcasters Catherine Brown, national vp for recording artists Dan Navarro and broadcast steering committee chair Joe Krebs.

comments powered by Disqus