SAG-AFTRA Releases Los Angeles Local Election Results

All three top officers are members of the pro-merger Unite for Strength group.

SAG-AFTRA’s Los Angeles Local members elected Clyde Kusatsu as their local president, the union announced Thursday.

Jenny O’Hara and Susan Boyd Joyce were elected as vice presidents. All three are members of the dominant Unite for Strength group.

“I'm extremely pleased so many members expressed their support for my leadership,” said Kusatsu. “I'm grateful for their vote of confidence and look forward to serving as President of SAG-AFTRA's largest local.”

Elected as national board members from Los Angeles were Martin Sheen, Tony Shalhoub, Esai Morales, Ken Howard, Jenny O’Hara, Amy Aquino, Clyde Kusatsu, Stephen Collins, Marcia Wallace, Jane Austin, Joanna Cassidy, Gabrielle Carteris, Robert Pine, Jeff Garlin, Jason George, Patricia Richardson, Marisol Nichols, D.W. Moffett, Lisa Vidal, Susan Boyd Joyce, Sumi Haru, Hal Eisner, L. Scott Caldwell, Jon Huertas, Mimi Cozzens, Ellen Crawford, Patrick Fabian andBobbie Bates.

That list is in descending order of number of votes received. Esai Morales, who lost decisively to Ken Howard in the race for union president, nonetheless garnered more votes than Howard in the race for national board member. The vote counts were close – 4,839 for Morales and 4,788 for Howard – but the fact they were close at all suggests that Morales had significant strength in Los Angeles.

Six of those elected – Sheen, Morales, Austin, Cassidy, Richardson and Haru – are members of Membership1st, formerly known as MembershipFirst, which is the group that opposed SAG/AFTRA merger. The other 22 are members of Unite for Strength.

Also elected were Los Angeles local board members, and Los Angeles delegates to the union’s September convention. A complete list of elected board members can be found here and a list showing the vote tallies is here. Elected delegates are listed here.

Bookmark The Hollywood Reporter’s Labor Page for the most in-depth coverage of entertainment unions and guilds.

Email: jhandel99 at gmail dot com

Twitter: @jhandel