SAG Foundation to Honor Lee Daniels, Megan Ellison, Rob Marshall

Courtesy of Sunshine Sachs
Lee Daniels

The filmmakers will receive the inaugural Patron of the Arts awards.

The Screen Actors Guild Foundation will present Lee Daniels, Megan Ellison and Rob Marshall with the inaugural Patron of the Arts awards.

The award is meant to honor industry leaders who have a history of fostering creativity by creating opportunities for actors, thus making a positive impact on the acting profession and the performing arts.

As a writer-director-producer, Daniels started his career producing Monster's Ball and went on to helm projects like Precious and The Butler. Daniels, who currently executive produces the Fox hit series Empire, is known to create stories that prominently feature actors of color.

Ellison is the head of Annapurna Pictures, the production and finance company responsible for American Hustle, Zero Dark Thirty and Her. Annapurna is set to release David O. Russell's Joy starring Jennifer Lawrence, which is due out this Christmas.

Marshall just garnered an impressive three Oscar nominations and a $212.9 million worldwide gross for his screen adaptation of the musical Into the Woods. He also helmed the musical Chicago, which brought home six Academy Awards, and the historical epic Memoirs of a Geisha, which won three Oscars.

“Each has discovered, nurtured and propelled creative talent both in front and behind the camera — Lee for diversity in storytelling and casting, Megan as a next generation patron for auteur filmmakers, and Rob for reviving the musical genre and giving actors opportunities to showcase different talents," said SAG Foundation president JoBeth Williams. "Their legacy and future work are inspirations for fans and filmmakers alike, and the SAG Foundation is thrilled to honor them.”

It was previously announced that Leonardo DiCaprio will receive the Actors Inspiration Award at the nonprofit's anniversary celebration, taking place on Nov. 5.