SAG Nominating Committee Selects Candidates for Fall Election

The current officers, president Ken Howard and secretary-treasurer Amy Aquino, were nominated to run unopposed for second terms, but additional candidates may emerge via petitions.

SAG’s national nominating committee has submitted current SAG President Ken Howard and current SAG Secretary-Treasurer Amy Aquino for second terms in their respective positions, the guild announced Thursday. No other candidates were nominated.

In addition, eligible candidates can qualify for the September elections by completing nominating petitions and filing them by 5:00 pm PT on July 21. It is not known yet whether any candidates intend to do so, or whether other candidates applied for nomination.

Petitions are available from the guild’s governance office at 323-549-6614.

Elections for directors and alternate directors of the national board will also take place this fall in the Hollywood, New York and Regional Branch Divisions.

Ballots will be mailed to the SAG membership on August 23, with a return deadline of September 22.

AFTRA and the WGA East and WGA West have also recently announced results or candidates.


Twitter: @jhandel