SAG Releases Candidate List

Robyn Beck/AFP/Getty Images

Incumbent president Ken Howard seeks reelection under banner of pro-merger group Unite for Strength, which fields a full slate, while MembershipFirst runs no candidates. In New York, two pro-merger groups do battle.

The Screen Actors Guild on Thursday released the official list of candidates for its upcoming national officer and national board elections. National president and national secretary-treasurer positions are up for election, both of which carry two-year terms. Approximately 1/3 of the total 69 national board seats are open for election this year.

The candidates for national president are David Hillberg, incumbent Ken Howard, Asmar Muhammad and Sharon Rubin. The candidate for national secretary-treasurer is Amy Aquino, running unopposed.

The only slate fielding candidates in Hollywood is Unite for Strength, which issued a press release at the same time as SAG’s. As before, Howard, and 1st Vice President Ned Vaughn are running under the UFS banner. The pro-merger group will also field a full slate of 34 candidates to run for positions on the guild’s national and Hollywood boards of directors.

MembershipFirst, the historically anti-merger group which effectively controlled the guild from 2005 through early 2009, ran a slate as recently as last year, but did not do so this time.

The UFS slate features 27 incumbent or returning candidates, including sitting board member Adam Arkin, and 7 first-time candidates, including Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Stephen Collins (No Ordinary Family), Kate Flannery (The Office), Lisa Vidal (The Event), and Iqbal Theba (Glee).

In New York, candidates are being fielded by established slate United Screen Actors Nationwide and breakaway group One.Strong.Union, both of which are pro-merger.

“I’m proud to be running with these candidates,” said Howard in reference to his UFS colleagues. “Two years ago, I promised members I would do everything possible to bring SAG and AFTRA together. . . Members have made it clear they need action as soon as possible, and I’m committed to delivering a formal merger plan by January.” Aquino and Vaughn echoed Howard’s assessment.

Shalhoub said, "I grew up in a union town, and as an actor I’ve always known there was a union behind me. We must never take our union protections for granted and we must never be divided."

Other candidates did not immediately release statements. All candidates and slates are listed below.

National officer ballots will be mailed to all eligible SAG members nationwide on August 23 with a return deadline and tabulation on September 22. Election results are expected to be announced that evening. The same schedule will apply to the Hollywood and New York Division elections.

The Hollywood Division will elect 12 national board members and 22 alternates. Eleven (11) candidate positions will be seated for a three (3) year term and one (1) candidate position will be seated for a one (1) year term (all national board alternates serve for one year). The New York Division will elect 5 national board members and 9 alternates. Each seat is for a three-year term (all national board alternates serve for one year).

(A THR story prior to the release of the candidate list suggested (based on information that turned out to be incorrect) that Clancy Brown may have been running for a national board seat. It turns out that he's not, and THR regrets any inconvenience the report may have caused. The other ten people listed in that story are indeed running.)

Candidates for New York Division president are OSU's Sam Robards and USAN-endorsed incumbent Mike Hodge.

Directors holding seven other national board seats will be elected from SAG Branches outside Hollywood and New York. Only one of those seats, in Nevada, is contested.

Twitter: @jhandel


2011 SAG Hollywood Division Board Election Candidates

(Candidate names are listed in random order, as they will appear on the ballot.)

1. D.W. Moffett

2. Mimi Cozzens

3. William Mapother

4. Tony Shalhoub

5. Assaf Cohen

6. Scott Pierce

7. Ken Howard

8. Arye Gross

9. Michael O’Neill

10. Ned Vaughn

11. Mandy Steckelberg

12. Bertila Damas

13. Rene Aubry

14. Robert Elliott

15. Jane Daly

16. George T. Woods

17. Jon Huertas

18. Allen Lulu

19. Bob Bergen

20. Scott Bakula

21. Stephen Mendel

22. Stacey Travis

23. Amy Aquino

24. Peter Antico

25. DeWayne Williams

26. Esai Morales

27. Valerie Harper

28. Tara Radcliffe

29. Stephen Collins

30. Lisa Vidal

31. George Coe

32. Woody Schultz

33. Christine Lakin

34. John Solari

35. Adam Arkin

36. Donal Logue

37. Parvesh Cheena

38. Kate Flannery

39. John Tremaine

40. Conrad E. Palmisano

41. Michelle Allsopp

42. Vivicca A. Whitsett

43. Ellen Crawford

44. David Dorfman

45. Iqbal Theba

46. Mobin Khan

47. Sarayu Rao

48. Ron Ostrow

49. Patrick Fabian

50. Tony Santoro

51. David Hillberg

52. John Carroll Lynch

53. William Charlton

54. James Paradise

55. L. Scott Caldwell

56. David Jolliffe

57. Nicholas Stankevich


2011 SAG New York Division Board Election Candidates

(Candidate names are listed in order by randomly selecting a letter and then listing candidate names alphabetically by last name starting with the letter selected. The letter “K” was randomly selected. Following is the order in which they will appear on the ballot.)

1. Ezra Knight

2. Gy Mirano

3. Joe Narciso

4. Jay Potter

5. Sam Robards

6. John Rothman

7. Kevin Scullin

8. Matt Servitto

9. Manny Alfaro

10. Corey Anker

11. Dave Bachman

12. Marc Baron

13. Justin Barrett

14. Lewis Black

15. Mark Blum

16. Rebecca Damon

17. Kelly Deadmon

18. Andrew Dolan

19. Traci Godfrey

20. Jeff Gurner

21. Phoebe Jonas


2011 SAG Regional Branch Division Board Election Candidates

(Candidate names are listed in alphabetical order, as they will appear on the ballot. In Regional Branches where candidates ran for office unopposed, the candidates may be declared elected without the necessity of a membership vote*.)


Bill Mootos* (elected)



Suzanne Burkhead* (elected)



Ed Kelly* (elected)



Robert Nelson* (elected)



Cece DuBois* (elected)



Art Lynch

Rick Rockne


Washington, D.C./Balt.

Stephen F. Schmidt* (elected)


Unite for Strength’s 2011 Screen Actors Guild officer and board candidates are:


Ken Howard


Secretary Treasurer

Amy Aquino


Board of Directors (with ballot number)

Michelle Allsopp - 41

Amy Aquino - 23

Adam Arkin - 35

Bob Bergen - 19

L. Scott Caldwell - 55

William Charlton - 53

Parvesh Cheena - 37

Assaf Cohen - 5

Stephen Collins - 29

Mimi Cozzens - 29

Ellen Crawford - 43

Bertila Damas - 12

Patrick Fabian - 49

Kate Flannery - 38

Arye Gross - 8

Ken Howard - 7

Jon Huertas - 17

Christine Lakin - 33

Donal Logue - 36

Allen Lulu - 18

John Carroll Lynch - 52

D.W. Moffett - 1

Michael O'Neill - 9

Conrad Palmisano - 40

Tara Radcliffe - 28

Sarayu Rao - 47

Woody Schultz - 32

Tony Shalhoub - 4

Mandy Steckelberg - 11

Iqbal Theba - 45

Stacey Travis - 22

Ned Vaughn - 10

Lisa Vidal - 30

Vivicca Whitsett - 42


New York

USAN candidates seeking New York board positions are Manny Alfaro, Dave Bachman, Marc Baron, Lewis Black, Marc Blum, Rebecca Damon, Traci Godfrey, Ezra Knight, Jay Potter, Jon Rothman, and Kevin Scullin. The group also endorsed incumbent Mike Hodge for New York Division President.

OSU candidates seeking New York board positions are Sam Robards, Matt Servitto, Joe Narciso, Justin Barrett, Andrew Dolan, Corey Anker, Kelly Deadmon, Jeff Gurner, Phoebe Jonas and Gy Mirano. Robards is also running for New York Division President.