Samuel Goldwyn Writing Award Goes to UCLA Student Rocco Pucillo

Courtesy of UCLA
Tom Rothman and Rocco Pucillo

Five prizes were handed out at the annual screenplay competition.

Rocco Pucillo, a student at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television,  won first prize in the 58th annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards for his screenplay Inspector Sun and the Curse of the Black Widow.

The awards were announced Monday evening by Samuel Goldwyn Jr., president of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, at a ceremony at UCLA.

Second prize was presented to Jared Robbins of UC Riverside for Farang. There was a three-way tie for third prize. The winners were Jeffrey Baker, UCLA, for Dr. Acker’s English Elixir; Sean Harrigan, UC Irvine, for Dust Red; and Turner Hay, UCLA, for Broken Grey.

The judges for the competition were Tom Rothman, chairman of TriStar Productions; Pete Hammond of Deadline Hollywood and Movieline; and Jennifer O’Kieffe, writer and 2007 Samuel Goldwyn Award winner.

The Goldwyn Awards carry prizes of $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second and $4,000 for third.