Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Winners Revealed

Todd Cheney
From left: Channing Dungey, Liz Buda and Tony Goldwyn

The competition, open exclusively to UCLA students, recognizes excellence in dramatic writing.

Four students from the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television were honored Monday night as winners of the 62nd annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which recognize excellence in dramatic writing. 

John Goldwyn, president, and Tony Goldwyn, vice president, of the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation, announced the awards. First prize went to Liz Buda for her screenplay Zero Hour. The other winners were: second prize, Joey Siara, Goslinged; and tied for third prize, Godwin Itai Japangwe for R.O.V.E.R. and Eric Mallory Morgan for Hole in the Sky. Morgan was a repeat winner, having won first prize in 2016 for his script Tonya.

The competition was judged by Channing Dungey, president of ABC Entertainment; Chris Selak, executive vp and head of worldwide scripted television for Lionsgate; and actress, producer and activist Kerry Washington.

“In keeping with the tradition my grandfather started in 1955, the Samuel Goldwyn Foundation is proud to support talented young writers,” John Goldwyn said. “We are delighted to celebrate their success.”

The competition is open exclusively to UCLA students. The prizes carry awards of $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second place and $4,000 for each third-place winner.