Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Announces Finalists

Winners of the award, open to all University of California students, will be unveiled in November

Finalists have been selected for the 2014 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, the winners of which will be announced Nov. 3 at UCLA. The finalists, all UCLA students, are Kevin Human for the screenplay Hell Is Other Cowboys; Han-Yee Ling, Spaghetti Bridges; Dan Patrick, Village of Sweet Dreams; Teresa Sullivan and A. J. Marchisello, Doubleblind; and Gaia Viola, Absentia.

Judges for the awards, which are in their 59th year, are writer-director Allison Anders; Ben Feingold, producer and former president, Sony Pictures worldwide home entertainment, digital distribution and product acquisitions; and Jeremy Kay, U.S. editor, Screen International.

The awards were started by Samuel Goldwyn Sr. in 1955 at UCLA to encourage young film, stage and television writers and are open to all students at all University of California campuses.

The $15,000 first prize, $7,500 second prize, $4,000 third prize, and $2,000 and $1,000 honorable mentions will be awarded in November.