Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Finalists, Judges Revealed

Kerry Washington - ABC Scandal 100th Episode Celebration - Getty - H 2017
By Jason LaVeris/FilmMagic/Getty Images

The winner will be announced Oct. 30.

Actress Kerry Washington, ABC Entertainment president Channing Dungey and Lionsgate exec vp and head of worldwide scripted television Chris Selak will serve as judges of the 62nd annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, it was announced Tuesday by Samuel Goldwyn Foundation president John Goldwyn and vp Tony Goldwyn.

The awards, which recognize excellence in dramatic writing, are given exclusively to students at UCLA.

The finalists for the 2017 awards are: Liz Buda for the screenplay Zero Hour; Godwin Itai Jabangwe for R.O.V.E.R.; Eric Mallory Morgan for Hole in the Sky; and Joey Siara for Goslinged.

“The Goldwyn family has been a great friend to the University of California,” Teri Schwartz, dean of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, commented. “They have contributed enormously to the education and development of our UCLA TFT students. We appreciate the Goldwyn family’s time, energy and unfailing enthusiasm for the success of our students and the next generation of storytellers. We are so very thankful for their commitment to continue the magnificent legacy of the Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards, which began more than 60 years ago.”

The winner will be announced Oct. 30.