'The Florida Project' Named Best Film by the San Francisco Film Critics Circle

The Florida Project Still Willem Dafoe - Publicity - Embed 2017
Courtesy of A24

Dafoe as Magic Castle motel manager Bobby.

The Sean Baker-directed film was also recognized in the category of best supporting actor, with Willem Dafoe winning that award.

The San Francisco Film Critics Circle has named The Florida Project as its best picture of 2017.

The Sean Baker-directed film about a mother and daughter living in a motel on the outskirts of Disney World was also recognized in the category of best supporting actor, with Willem Dafoe winning that award.

The Shape of Water earned two honors: best director (Guillermo del Toro) and best production design (Paul D. Austerberry).

Other noteworthy winners include: War for the Planet of the Apes' Andy Serkis for best actor; I, Tonya's Margot Robbie for best actress; Lady Bird's Laurie Metcalf for best supporting actress; Get Out for best screenplay, original; and Call Me by Your Name for best screenplay, adapted).

Coco was named best animated feature; BPM took best foreign-language film honors; and Faces Places was tapped as best documentary.

A full list of this year's winners follows.

Best Picture
The Florida Project (WINNER)
Call Me by Your Name
Get Out
The Shape of Water?
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director
Guillermo del Toro - The Shape of Water (WINNER)
Sean Baker - The Florida Project?
Greta Gerwig - Lady Bird?
Christopher Nolan - Dunkirk?
Jordan Peele - Get Out

Best Actor
Andy Serkis – War for the Planet of the Apes (WINNER)
Timothee ChalametCall Me by Your Name
?James Franco – The Disaster Artist
?Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out?
Gary OldmanDarkest Hour?

Best Actress
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya (WINNER)
Annette Bening Film Stars Don't Die in Liverpool?
Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water?
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor
Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project (WINNER)
?Armie Hammer – Call Me by Your Name?
Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water?
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri?
Michael Stuhlbarg – Call Me by Your Name

Best Supporting Actress
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird (WINNER)
Holly Hunter – The Big Sick?
Allison JanneyI, Tonya?
Melissa Leo – Novitiate?
Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread

Best Screenplay, Original
Get Out – Jordan Peele (WINNER)
The Big SickKumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon
?Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig
?The Shape of Water – Guillermo Del Toro and Vanessa Taylor
?Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Martin McDonagh

Best Screenplay, Adapted
Call Me by Your Name – James Ivory (WINNER)
The Disaster Artist – Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber
?Molly's Game – Aaron Sorkin?
Mudbound – Dee Rees and Virgil Williams
?Wonderstruck – Brian Selznick

Best Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins (WINNER)?
DunkirkHoyte van Hoytema?
The Florida Project – Alexis Zabe
?The Shape of Water – Dan Laustsen?
Wonder Wheel Vittorio Storaro

Best Production Design
The Shape of Water – Paul D. Austerberry (WINNER)
Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner?
Dunkirk – Nathan Crowley
?Phantom Thread – Mark Tildesley
?Wonderstruck – Mark Friedberg

Best Original Score
Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood (WINNER)
Blade Runner 2049  – Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch?
Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer?
The Shape of WaterAlexandre Desplat?
War for the Planet of the Apes – Michael Giacchino

Best Film Editing
Baby Driver – Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos (WINNER)
?Blade Runner 2049 – Joe Walker?
Dunkirk – Lee Smith?
The Post – Michael Kahn?
The Shape of Water – Sidney Wolinsky

Best Animated Feature
The Breadwinner?
The Lego Batman Movie
?Loving Vincent?
Your Name

Best Foreign Language Picture
?A Fantastic Woman?
?In the Fade?
The Square

Best Documentary
Faces Places (WINNER)
Brimstone & Glory?
City of Ghosts
Dawson City: Frozen Time?

Special Citation for under-appreciated independent cinema?
Brimstone & Glory (WINNER)
The Other Kids

Marlon Riggs Award for courage & vision in the Bay Area film community
?Peter Bratt