San Francisco International Film Festival Awards Prizes

"History of Fear"

Benjamin Nashtat's "History of Fear" claims New Directors Prize, while Jesse Moss' "The Overnighters" and Sara Dosa's "The Last Season" win documentary awards.

Benjamin Naishtat’s History of Fear claimed the New Directors Prize at the 57th San Francisco International Film Festival, which concludes Thursday. At the May 7 awards ceremony, the festival, presented by the San Francisco Film Society, the Golden Gate Award for Documentary Feature was given to Jesse MossThe Overnighters, which follows a pastor’s efforts to house job seekers in a small North Dakota town. The Bay Area Documentary Feature Award was given to Sara Dosa’s The Last Season, about rare mushroom hunting in the Oregon woods.

In singling out History of Fear, the jury called the film,“a slyly assured reflection on suburban paranoia.” Special Jury Recognition for the New Directors Prize also went to Noaz Deshe’s White Shadow and Claudia Sainte-Luce’s The Amazing Catfish. Talal Derki’s Return to Home earned Special Jury Recognition in the documentary category.

Nearly $40,000 in prizes was given to emerging and established filmmakers from 13 different countries.

Golden Gate Award Short Film winners:

Narrative Short (tie):

The Birds' Blessing, Serge Mirzabekiantz, (Belgium)

So You've Grown Attached, Kate Tsang (USA)

Documentary Short:

The High Five, Michael Jacobs (USA)

Animated Short:

The Missing Scarf, Eion Duffy (Ireland)

Bay Area Short (tie):

Santa Cruz del Islote, Luke Lorentzen (USA)

No One but Lydia, Rob Richert (USA)

New Visions Short:

Numbers & Friends, Alexander Carson (Canada)

The Family Film winners:

Family Film:

The Dam Keeper, Robert Kondo, Dice Tsutsumi (USA)

Family Film Honorable Mention:

The Numberlys, William Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg (USA)

The Youth Work winners:

Youth Work:

Epitaph, Charles Blecker (USA)

Youth Work Honorable Mention:

Bay Area Girls Rock Camp, Lily Yu, Judy Lee, Jeremiah Mellor (USA)