San Sebastian Festival Adds Cannes and Berlin Winners, Todd Haynes' 'Wonderstruck'

The Square - Cannes Publicity - H 2017
Courtesy of Cannes Film Festival

'The Big Sick' will also screen at the Spanish festival.

Some of the year's film festival winners will feature in the Pearls and Zabaltegi-Tabakalera sections of the San Sebastian Film Festival.

In the Pearls section, Hungarian filmmaker Ildiko Enyedi, winner of the Golden Bear with the fable On Body and Soul, will compete for the City of Donostia/San Sebastian Audience Award against the Cannes jury prize winner Loveless, by Russian filmmaker Andrey Zvyagintsev and the jury grand prix winner 120 Beats Per Minute by Robin Campillo.

Also contending for the award decided by the spectators are Wonderstruck, the adaptation of a story by Brian Selznick, which competed at Cannes, in which Todd Haynes (Carol) directs Julianne Moore, Michelle Williams and child actors Oakes Fegley and Millicent Simmonds.

Michael Showalter's The Big Sick, about an interracial couple forced to deal with their cultural differences, and Luca Guadagnino's Call Me by Your Name will also be part of the festival.

Meanwhile, The Square from Swedish director Ruben Ostlund, recognized with the Palme d'Or at the Cannes festival, will open the Zabaltegi-Tabakalera section.

Also screening there are Philippe Garrel's L'amant d'un jour (Lover for a Day) and Tesnota (Closeness), the debut film of Kantemir Balagov.

The remaining titles making up both sections will be announced in the coming weeks.