San Sebastian Creates New Directors Section

Only films screened in the section will compete for the $117,000 Kutxa-New Directors Award.

The San Sebastian International Film Festival will spin off as the independent New Directors Section, organizers announced Wednesday.

The section, which will continue to showcase the first and second films of directors worldwide, sees participants vie for the Kutxa-New Directors Award, worth a cash prize of €90,000 ($117,000) for the director and distributor of the film in Spain. The award will now only be granted to films screened in this section, and not to first and second films presented in other sections of the festival.

Every year since its creation, the New Directors section has seen around 20 promising filmmakers compete with their first movies. Films programmed in this section have included the first works by directors who have gone on to make an international name for themselves, like Olivier Assayas, Agustin Villaronga, Ixabel Coixet, Juanma Bajo Ulloa, Tsai Ming-liang, Danny Boyle, David O. Russell, Agustin Diaz Yanes, Hans Petter Moland, Nicolas Winding Refn, Juan Jose Campanella, Simon Staho, Laurent Cantet, Bong Joon-ho, Tom McCarthy, Lee Daniels, Hana Makhmalbaf and Judith Colell, among others.

The San Sebastian festival will run Sept. 21-29 this year.