Satellite Awards: 'Spotlight' Collects Four Prizes, Including Best Picture

Spotlight Still 5 - H 2016
Courtesy of Photofest

Spotlight Still 5 - H 2016

The International Press Academy also gave top acting honors to Leonardo DiCaprio and Saoirse Ronan.

Spotlight took home awards for best motion picture and best ensemble as well as best director, which went to the film’s Tom McCarthy, and best original screenplay, awarded to Josh Singer and McCarthy, at the 20th annual International Press Academy’s Satellite Awards, which were held Sunday night at the InterContinental Hotel in Los Angeles.

Winners also included Saoirse Ronan, named best actress for Brooklyn; Leonardo DiCaprio, best actor for The Revenant; Alicia Vikander, best supporting actress for The Danish Girl; and Christian Bale, best supporting actor for The Big Short.

Son of Saul from Hungary took the best international film honor, and Inside Out won best animated or mixed media motion picture. Amy and The Look of Silence tied for best documentary film.

The Walking Dead won for best TV series, genre; Better Call Saul was named best TV series, drama; and Silicon Valley won for best TV series, comedy. Best miniseries went to Flesh and Bone, and Stockholm, Pennsylvania took the best motion picture made for television prize.

Oscar winner Louise Fletcher was this year’s recipient of the group’s Mary Pickford Award for contributions to the entertainment industry. Other honors were earmarked for HIVE Lighting co-founders Robert Rutherford and Jon Edward Miller, who won the Tesla Award; Spike Lee, the Humanitarian Award; and filmmaker Robert M. Young, who received the Auteur Award.

Best first feature honors went to Jayro Bustamante for Ixcanul; breakthrough performance went to Jacob Tremblay of Room; and Amy Schumer won a special award for breakthrough comedian of the year for Trainwreck.

The International Press Academy consists of international and domestic entertainment journalists. A complete list of winners can be found at