Satellites put their spin on 'No Country,' 'Juno'


"No Country for Old Men" and "Juno" took the best drama and comedy/musical prizes, respectively, at the 12th annual Satellite Awards, which were handed out Sunday at the InterContinental Hotel in Century City.

The International Press Academy, which votes the awards, also rewarded the contemporary Western thriller "No Country" with its top director honors, which went to brothers Joel and Ethan Coen.

"Juno," a comedy about a teen pregnancy, earned Ellen Page, who plays the title role, the top prize for actress in a comedy or musical, and Diablo Cody won the best original screenplay award.

Best dramatic actress and actor were Marion Cotillard. for "La Vie en Rose." and Viggo Mortensen for "Eastern Promises." Ryan Gosling was named best actor in a comedy or musical for "Lars and the Real Girl."

The supporting acting laurels went to Amy Ryan as best support actress for "Gone Baby Gone" and Tom Wilkinson ("Michael Clayton") and Casey Affleck ("The Assassination of Jessie James by the Coward Robert Ford"), who tied for best supporting actor.

"Lust, Caution" was singled out as best foreign-language film. "Ratatouille" scored as best animated feature. "Sicko" prevailed as best documentary.

Kathy Bates received the Mary Pickford Award for her contribution to the entertainment industry. Dennis Murren was honored with the Tesla Award for visionary achievements in filmmaking. The Auteur Award went to Julian Schnabel for "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly." Ensemble awards were presented to "Before the Devil Knows You're Dead" and TV's "Mad Men."

The group dished out prizes in 22 film categories, 12 TV categories, six DVD categories and four game categories.

A complete list of winners can be found at