'Scandal's' Dan Bucatinsky to Be Honored at 2014 West Coast Liberty Awards (Exclusive)

AP Images
Dan Bucatinsky

Transgender activist Bamby Salcedo will also be featured at the June 13 event held by Lambda Legal in Beverly Hills.

Scandal alum Dan Bucatinsky is being honored by Lambda Legal with the Celebrity in the Spotlight Liberty Award, The Hollywood Reporter has learned. Bucatinsky will be honored "for the voice he has given to LGBT characters and families" through his Emmy-winning role on Scandal, James Novak.

Additionally, transgender activist Bamby Salcedo will also be honored at the West Coast Liberty Awards on Friday, June 13 event, held this year at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Lambda Legal is the country's largest legal organization and strives to achieve full recognition of civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those living with HIV. The West Coast Liberty Awards is a yearly gala that recognizes individuals and organizations whose public advocacy and work has furthered the cause of Lambda Legal's vision of equality. Past honorees have included Rosie O'Donnell, Margaret Cho, Kathy Griffin, Alan Cumming and Judith Light.

"Portraying a gay character onscreen has been particularly sweet at this moment in time, especially when the national dialogue on LGBT equality is so rapidly advancing," said Bucatinsky. "It's an honor to me to be recognized by an organization who also works so hard to bring equality to all."

Bucatinsky, along with producing partner Lisa Kudrow, was behind The Comeback, Who Do You Think You Are? and Web Therapy, created with his husband, Don Roos. He has also updated the "It Gets Better" campaign with "It Got Better," aimed at utilizing the media to reach LGBT youth worldwide by providing support and messages of hope that life gets better. Most recently, Bucatinsky joined NBC comedy pilot Marry Me opposite Casey Wilson.

This year's awards honorary committee includes Charles Michael Davis, David Glasser, Dot Marie Jones, Holly Robinson Peete, Joe Mantegna, Joshua Malina, Khandi Alexander, Kristen Connolly, Ming-Na Wen, Pablo Schreiber, Raphael Sbarge, Sherri Saum, Tony Denison and Mircea Monroe.

Lance Bass hosted last year's ceremony, which honored Justin Bartha for his role on the short-lived The New Normal, and Super Bowl champion Brendon Ayanbadejo, The Magic Johnson Foundation and Eric Webber.