Scott Weiland working on solo album

'Happy' due in November on Softdrive lanel

NEW YORK -- Scott Weiland's second solo album, "Happy," will arrive Nov. 18 via his own Softdrive label. The set was co-produced by Steve Albini and Doug Grean, with Albini also engineering a handful of songs.

"Happy" boasts guest appearances from three members of No Doubt: Tony Kanal, Tom Dumont and Adrian Young.

Although the full track list has yet to be announced, "Happy" includes "Paralysis" (a Bowie-esque midempo with a crunchy chorus) the banjo- and acoustic guitar-addled "She's So Cold," the peppy rocker "Talk About Love," the bedroom pop-leaning "Somedays" and the glammy, riffy "Missing Cleveland."

Weiland is planning to tour in November in support of "Happy," with dates to be revealed. Until then, he's on tour with the reunited Stone Temple Pilots through Oct. 31 in Pelham, Ala.

His lone prior solo release, "12 Bar Blues," came out in 1998.