Screen Australia names new board

Boreham, Robertson appointed chair, deputy

SYDNEY -- Australian arts minister Peter Garrett on Friday appointed IBM Australia managing director Glen Boreham chairman of the new eight-member board of industry super agency Screen Australia.

Garrett named entertainment lawyer Ian Robertson deputy chair of the board, which will begin agency oversight July 1 for an initial three-year term.

Robertson is a past chairman of locations agency Ausfilm.

Also named to the board were Cherie Bottger, head of children's TV and documentaries for Network Ten; Rachel Perkins, director of National Indigenous Television and a director of the Australian Film Commission; Deanne Weir, COO of pay TV group Austar United Communications; award-winning filmmaker Robert Connolly; and Greg Smith, communications director of visual effects production company Animal Logic.

Lynne Maddock will act as Screen Australia interim CEO until a replacement is found.