ScreenSingapore Finds its Emissaries

Org names 52 industry leaders to help build buzz for June event.


The initial wave of the creme de la creme of the world’s film business has signed on as ambassadors for ScreenSingapore, the organization’s board will announce today at Filmart.

Directors Oliver Stone and Wayne Wang are joined by executives Harold Shaw, Albert Lee and Sanjeev Lamba in the 52-strong group for the inaugural event planned for June 5-12.

“We are extremely honored to have the formal support of renowned film professionals and filmmakers, all of whom have been instrumental indeveloping the film industry around the world,” said Greg Coote, chairman of Latitude Entertainment, and the chairman of the board of ScreenSingapore.

ScreenSingapore is the first international cinema event in Singapore and it’s stated goal is to bring together a cross section of the movie business for an exchange ideas and explore business opportunities in the region.

“ScreenSingapore will no doubt prove to be a truly international event, a platform where both Asian and Western cinema will flourish together, promoting cross-cultural working relationships and helping bring international projects to an even wider audience,” director Wang said.

“The Asia-Pacific region is a vast area of potential growth for the global film industry,” said Samuel Hadida, president of Metropolitan Films.

“ScreenSingapore will undoubtedly prove to be pivotal in the film community reaching this potential audience of billions of people.”

The complete list of ScreenSingapore Ambassadors follows:

Milt Barlow, China Lion Film Distribution; Bill Block, QED International; Moritz Borman, Onda Entertainment; Nadia Bronson, NadiaBronson & Associates; Devesh Chetty, RGM Media Ltd; Sukee Chew, Hopscotch Pictures; Frank Cintamani, Fide Multimedia; Bruce Davey, Icon Productions; Antoine de Clermont Tonnerre, Mact Prods.; Mark deQuervain, VUE Entertainment (U.K.); Joe Drake, Lionsgate; Craig Emanuel, Loeb & Loeb LLP; Delfin Fernandez, HOYTS Group (Australia); Stuart Ford, CEO, IM Global; Peter Fornstam, Svenska Bio; Richard J. Fox, Warner Bros. Entertainment International; Rob Friedman, Summit Entertainment; Subhash Ghai, Mukta Arts Ltd; DavidGlass, Golden Village; Samuel Hadida, Metropolitan Films; Paul Hanneman, Twentieth Century Fox; Yanming Jiang, China Lion FilmDistribution; Robert Kirby, Village Roadshow Limited; Veronika Kwan-Rubinek, Warner Bros. Entertainment International; Sanjeev Lamba, Reliance BIG Pictures; Albert Lee, Emperor Motion Picture (HK); MikyLee, Vice Chairman, CJ Entertainment; Victor Loewy, Alliance FilmsInc.

Kishore Lulla, Eros International; Christopher Mapp, Omnilab Media; Rob Minkoff, Filmmaker; Andre Morgan, Ruddy Morgan Productions; Deepak Nayar, Kintop Pictures; Andrew Ooi, 852 Films; Sanford Panitch, Fox International Productions; William Pfeiffer, Tiger Gate Entertainment Ltd; Roger Pollock, Paramount Pictures International; John Ptak, Arsenal; Suhaimi Rafdi, Cathay Organisation Holdings Ltd;David Seargeant, Amalgamated Holdings Limited; Raja Sharif, Alnoor Holdings; Harold Shaw, Shaw Organization; Oliver Stone, Filmmaker; Roeg Sutherland, Creative Artists Agency; Chris Thomas, BBDO /Proximity Asia; Jeremy Thomas, Recorded Picture Company; Stewart Till, Icon UK; David Unger, International Creative Management Inc.; Patrick Wachsberger, Summit Entertainment; Wayne Wang, Wayne Wang Productions; Erik Wilbers, World Intellectual Property Organization.