Screenwriters Choice Awards Nominees Include 'Blue Jasmine,' 'Her,' '12 Years a Slave'

The honors, voted by users of Final Draft screenwriting software, will be announced Jan. 7.

Woody Allen’s Blue Jasmine, Spike Jonze’s Her and John Ridley’s 12 Years a Slave are among the nominees for the second annual Screenwriters Choice Awards. The awards are sponsored by Final Draft, which makes screenwriting software, and the winners will be announced at the Final Draft Awards, to be held Jan. 7 on the Paramount Studios lot.

The winners will be chosen through an open forum of Final Draft users from the nominees, who were selected by a committee of working screenwriters. “What’s unique about these awards is that Final Draft users range from award-winning professional writers to aspiring writers who will one day define this business,” said Marc Madnick, CEO of Final Draft, Inc.

VIDEO: THR's Full Uncensored Writers Roundtable

This year’s awards nominating committee included writers Ted GriffinSimon KinbergLarry KarasyewskiJohn Francis DaleyJonathan GoldsteinStan ChervinBrian DuffieldDustin Lance BlackAmy BergKirsten Smith, and David Wain.

Writer-director-producer Nancy Meyers was previously announced as this year’s inductee into the Final Draft Hall of Fame. This year’s awards show will be hosted by writer-director-comedian Jay Chandrasekhar. 

The nominees are:

Best Original Screenplay

Blue Jasmine - Woody Allen

Gravity - Alfonso Cuaron  & Jonas Cuaron

Her - Spike Jonze

Inside Llewyn Davis - Joel Coen & Ethan Coen

Nebraska - Bob Nelson

Best Adapted Screenplay

12 Years a Slave - John Ridley (based on the book Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup)

Before Midnight - Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke (based on characters created by Linklater and Kim Krizan)

Captain Phillips - Billy Ray (based on the book A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips & Stephan Talty)

Philomena - Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope (based on the book The Lost Child of Philomena Lee by Martin Sixsmith

The Wolf of Wall Street - Terence Winter (based on the book The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort)

Best TV Comedy

Arrested Development  - Mitchell Hurwitz (series creator)

Girls - Lena Dunham (series creator)

Modern Family - Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd (series creators)

Parks and Recreation - Greg Daniels, Michael Schur (series creators)

Veep - Armando Iannucci (series creator)

Best TV Drama

Breaking Bad - Vince Gilligan (series creator)

Downton Abbey - Julian Fellowes (series creator)

Game of Thrones -  David Benioff, D.B. Weiss (series creators)

House of Cards -  Beau Willimon (series creator)

Mad Men - Matthew Weiner (series creator)