Scripter nods to 'No Country' team, Zaillian


Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Cormac McCarthy and Oscar-winning screenwriters Ethan and Joel Coen won the 20th annual USC Libraries Scripter Award for Miramax's "No Country for Old Men."

The Scripter recognizes the authors and screenwriters of a produced book-to-film adaptation. The "No Country" writers were chosen over the scribes behind the four other finalists: "Atonement," "Into the Wild," "There Will Be Blood" and "Zodiac."

The organization also will honor Oscar-winning screenwriter Steven Zaillian with the inaugural Scripter Literary Achievement Award. The Friends of the USC Libraries created the prize to recognize writers who have made significant and sustained contributions to the art of adaptation.

Zaillian won an Oscar for adapting "Schindler's List" and received nominations for his work on "Awakenings" and "Gangs of New York." He is a three-time Scripter winner, receiving honors for "Schindler's List," "Awakenings," and "A Civil Action."

"As our only three-time Scripter winner, Steven embodies what the Scripter is all about: outstanding storytelling," Scripter founder and Friends of the USC Libraries president Glenn Sonnenberg said. "His body of work represents the best in adapted screenwriting."

Zaillian's credits also include the screenplays for "American Gangster," "The Interpreter," "Searching for Bobby Fischer" and "The Falcon and the Snowman."

The Scripters will be handed out at a gala ceremony Feb. 2 at USC's Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. Jason Alexander will serve as master of ceremonies.