Seattle fest announces winners

'The Other Bank' takes New Directors Showcase Award

George Ovashvili's "The Other Bank" was awarded the grand jury's New Directors Showcase Award and Barbara Schroeder's "talhotblond" was the documentary grand jury winner at the 35th International Seattle Film Festival, which concluded Sunday.

The doc jury also awarded a special jury prize to Yoshio Harada's "Manhole Children."

The Golden Space Needle Audience Award for best film went to Scott Sanders' "Black Dynamite." First runner-up was Benoit Pilon's "The Necessities of Life," with runner-up awards also going to: second runner-up: Marc Webb's "(500) Days of Summer"; third (tie): Kevin Hamedani's "ZMD: Zombies of Mass Destruction" and Lucy Akhurst's "Morris: A Life with Bells On"; and fourth: Philipp Stolzl's "North Face."

Louie Psihoyos' "The Cove" took home the Golden Space Needle Award for best documentary.

Runners-up were: Sandy Cioffi's "Sweet Crude"; Sarah Kunstler and Emily Kunstler's "William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe"; James D. Stern and Adam Del Deo's "Every Little Step; and in a tie for fourth runner-up, Robert Kenner's "Food, Inc." and Pete McCormack's "Facing Ali."

The Golden Space Needle for best director went to Kathryn Bigelow for "The Hurt Locker." Runners-up were Lynn Shelton for "Humpday," Kari Skogland for "Fifty Dead Men Walking," Spike Lee for "Passing Strange" and Webb for "(500) Days."

Sam Rockwell was named best actor for "Moon." Runners-up were Jim Sturgess for "Dead Men"; Natar Ungalaaq for "Necessities," Mark Duplass for "Humpday" and Toni Servillo for "Il Divo."

Yolande Moreau was named best actress for "Seraphine." Runners-up were Catalina Saavedra for "The Maid," Trine Dyrholm for "Little Soldier," Nathalie Press for "Dead Men" and Iben Hjejle for "The Escape."

The Golden Space Needle for best short film went to Nick Park's "Wallace and Gromit: A Matter of Loaf and Death."

Runners-up were: Jason Eisener's "Treevenge"; Thomas Oberlies and Matthias Vogel's "Full Employment"; Fabrice O. Joubert's "French Roast"; and Pelle Moller's "Make My Day."

The Lena Sharpe Award for Persistence of Vision was awarded to "Sweet Crude."

Short Film Jury Awards were presented to: Destin Danniel Cretton's "Short Term 12," narrative grand jury prize; Michael Kinirons' "Lowland Fell" and Denis Villeuneuve's "Next Floor," special jury prizes; Laurie Hill's "Photography of Jesus," animation grand jury prize; and Ken Wardrop's "The Herd," documentary grand jury prize.

The WaveMaker Award for Excellence in Youth Filmmaking went to Samantha Muilenberg's "A Generation of Consolidation," which also picked up the FutureWave Shorts Audience Award. Riaebia Robinson's "If U Want 2 Get Technical" received a special jury award.

The Youth Jury Award for Best FutureWave Feature went to David Lee Miller's "My Suicide," with Jamie J. Johnson's "Sounds Like Teen Spirit" earning a special jury award.