Shanghai Festival Unveils Competition Jury and Entries

Tom Hooper
Stephen Lovekin/Getty Images

Czech master Jiri Menzel and Chinese director Ning Hao are among six filmmakers and critics joining Tom Hooper to choose the Golden Goblet award winner from 12 entries.

 HONG KONG – The Shanghai International Film Festival has announced the list of jurors who will join British filmmaker Tom Hooper in choosing the winner of its official competition next month.

Czech master Jiri Menzel, German director Chris Kraus, Iranian filmmaker Khosro Masoumi and French critic Michel Ciment will be in Shanghai from May 16 to 25 alongside Chinese filmmaker Ning Hao and actress Yu Nan in selecting the recipient of the Golden Goblet Award from a slate of 12 films.

Hooper was already unveiled as president of the jury last month, while Masoumi was last year’s winner of the top award with Bear. Festival organizers said this year’s crop of competition entries were selected out of 1,655 entries from 112 countries.

STORY: Tom Hooper to Head Shanghai International Film Festival Jury

In the running for the prize are two Chinese-language entries: Sherwood Hu’s basketball-driven feature Amazing and Dante Lam’s martial arts thriller Unbeatable, a Bona production repped in Cannes by Distribution Workshop.

The other ten films in the selection are Yuri Bykov’s The Major, which is making its world premiere this week at the Critics’ Week sidebar at Cannes; Lenin M. Shvam’s A Gun and A Ring; Kang Woo-suk’s Fists of Legend; Petar Popzlatev’s I Am You; Michel Poulette’s Maina; Sandra Nettelbeck’s Mr Morgan’s Last Love; William Olsson’s Reliance; Savas Baykal’s Taste of Poetry; Taro Hyugaji’s Under the Nagasaki Sky; and Ilias Yannakakis' Joy.

Meanwhile, ten films will be competing for the festival’s Asian New Talent Award, with the five-strong jury chaired by Chinese director Lu Chuan. The other members are Indian critic Aruna Vasudev, South Korean director Choi Dong-hoon, US producer Gary Kurtz and French actress (and Jackie Chan’s CZ12 co-star) Laura Weissbecker.

The festival announced last week that Oliver Stone will be receiving an Outstanding Achievement honorary award at the festival this year. The U.S. director will be attending the festival to receive the prize as well as participate in a master class.