Slamdance announces winners

'The Claytons,' 'FX Factory' take top honors

Beverly Neufeld's script "The Claytons" took top honors in the scripted category of the Slamdance Teleplay Competition. "FX Factory" by James Wade, Brian Beacock and Lauren Bass, won in the unscripted category.

The awards will be presented at the WGA West headquarters in Los Angeles on Sept. 22.

A graduate of UCLA's MFA Screenwriting program, Neufeld will receive a $10,000 prize sponsored by Act III.

The "Factory" team will receive $5,000 in goods and services from Filmworks/FX for their future production endeavors.

Runner-ups in the Teleplay Scripted Category are: second place, "Standards and Practices" by Chase Sprull; third place, "Miseducated," Martin Aguilera; fourth place, "Fatima," Sabrina Naqvi; and fifth place, "Corporate Debt" by Zach Esper.

Slamdance's president and co-founder Peter Baxter said, "It's our goal to keep developing great independent talent for commercial success."

The Slamdance Film Festival will run concurrently with the Sundance Film Festival, which runs from Jan. 21-28 in Park City, Utah.