'Slumdog' leads London critics' noms

'Hunger,' 'Happy-Go-Lucky,' 'Frost/Nixon' follow

LONDON -- Danny Boyle's "Slumdog Millionaire" continued to wow critics, leading the field for next year's London Film Critics' Circle awards.

"Slumdog" received six nominations, including the Attenborough Award for British film of the year, director of the year and British actor of the year for Dev Patel.

Artist Steve McQueen's directorial debut, "Hunger," Mike Leigh's "Happy-Go-Lucky" and Ron Howard's "Frost/Nixon" are all in the chasing pack with five noms apiece.

"Millionaire" faces competition for British film of the year from "Happy-Go-Lucky," "Hunger," "In Bruges" and "Man on Wire."

Animated blockbuster "WALL-E" will need to see off "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button," "Frost/Nixon," "Milk" and "The Wrestler" to be crowned film of the year.

Competing for director of the year are Clint Eastwood ("Changeling"), Gus Van Sant ("Milk"), Danny Boyle ("Slumdog Millionaire"), Darren Aronofsky ("The Wrestler") and David Fincher ("The Curious Case of Benjamin Button").

Unusually, Kate Winslet secured nominations for both British actress of the year and actress of the year for her work in two films: "The Reader" and "Revolutionary Road."

Also contesting the actress of the year plaudits are Penelope Cruz for "Vicky Cristina Barcelona," Anne Hathaway in "Rachel Getting Married," Angelina Jolie in "Changeling" and Meryl Streep in "Doubt."

Mickey Rourke for "The Wrestler" and the late Heath Ledger's turn in "The Dark Knight" brought the actors nominations in the actor of the year category. Other noms went to Josh Brolin for his turn in "W.," Frank Langella in "Frost/Nixon" and Sean Penn in "Milk."

Vying for British actress of the year alongside Winslet are Kristin Scott Thomas ("I've Loved You So Long"), Tilda Swinton ("Julia"), Rebecca Hall ("Vicky Cristina Barcelona"), Sally Hawkins ("Happy-Go-Lucky").

The contest for British actor of the year will be between Ralph Fiennes ("The Duchess"), Ben Kingsley ("Elegy"), Michael Fassbender ("Hunger"), Patel ("Slumdog") and Michael Sheen ("Frost/Nixon").

The night also will see Judi Dench honored with the presentation of the Dilys Powell Award for outstanding contribution to cinema.

The 29th London Critics' Circle Film Awards, sponsored by First Direct, in aid of the children's charity NSPCC will take place Feb. 4.

A complete list of nominees follows:

Film of the year
"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"
"The Wrestler"

The Attenborough Award for British film of the year
"In Bruges"
"Man on Wire"
"Slumdog Millionaire"

Foreign-language film of the year
"I've Loved You So Long"
"The Orphanage"
"Waltz With Bashir"

Director of the year
Darren Aronofsky, "The Wrestler"
Danny Boyle, "Slumdog Millionaire"
Clint Eastwood, "Changeling"
David Fincher, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"
Gus Van Sant, "Milk"

British director of the year
Danny Boyle, "Slumdog Millionaire"
Terence Davies, "Of Time and the City"
Mike Leigh, "Happy-Go-Lucky"
Steve McQueen, "Hunger"
Christopher Nolan, "The Dark Knight"

Actor of the year
Josh Brolin, "W."
Frank Langella, "Frost/Nixon"
Heath Ledger, "The Dark Knight"
Sean Penn, "Milk"
Mickey Rourke, "The Wrestler"

Actress of the year
Penelope Cruz, "Vicky Cristina Barcelona"
Anne Hathaway, "Rachel Getting Married"
Angelina Jolie, "Changeling"
Meryl Streep, "Doubt"
Kate Winslet, "The Reader" and "Revolutionary Road"

British actor of the year
Michael Fassbender, "Hunger"
Ralph Fiennes, "The Duchess"
Ben Kingsley, "Elegy"
Dev Patel, "Slumdog Millionaire"
Michael Sheen, "Frost/Nixon"

British actress of the year
Rebecca Hall, "Vicky Cristina Barcelona"
Sally Hawkins, "Happy-Go-Lucky"
Kristin Scott Thomas, "I've Loved You So Long"
Tilda Swinton, "Julia"
Kate Winslet, "The Reader" and "Revolutionary Road"

British actor in a supporting role
Liam Cunningham, "Hunger"
Toby Jones, "Frost/Nixon" and "W."
Eddie Marsan, "Happy-Go-Lucky"
Peter O'Toole, "Dean Spanley"
Mark Strong, "Body of Lies"

British actress in a supporting role
Hayley Atwell, "The Duchess"
Kristin Scott Thomas, "Easy Virtue"
Tilda Swinton, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"
Emma Thompson, "Brideshead Revisited"
Alexis Zegerman, "Happy-Go-Lucky"

Screenwriter of the year
Simon Beaufoy, "Slumdog Millionaire"
David Hare, "The Reader"
Martin McDonagh, "In Bruges"
Peter Morgan, "Frost/Nixon"
Eric Roth, "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"

NSPCC Award for young British performer of the year
Asa Butterfield, "The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas"
Georgia Groome, "Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging"
Bill Milner, "Son of Rambow"
Dev Patel, "Slumdog Millionaire"
Will Poulter, "Son of Rambow"
Thomas Turgoose, "Somers Town" and "Eden Lake"

Breakthrough British filmmaker
Joanna Hogg, writer-director: "Unrelated"
Martin McDonagh, writer-director: "In Bruges"
Steve McQueen, writer-director: "Hunger"
James Watkins, writer-director: "Eden Lake"
Rupert Wyatt, director: "The Escapist"

Dilys Powell Award for outstanding contribution to cinema
Judi Dench