'Slumdog,' 'WALL-E' win Eddies

'Breaking Bad,' '30 Rock' among ACE TV winners

"Slumdog Millionaire's" triumphant march across the Hollywood awards landscape continued Sunday night at the 59th annual ACE Eddie Awards, where the film's Chris Dickens took home the trophy for the best edited feature film drama.

At the American Cinema Editors awards dinner at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, "WALL-E" also made history for the organization by becoming the first animated feature film to win an Eddie, when its editor Stephen Schaffer captured the prize for best edited feature comedy or musical.
"Man on Wire," the documentary about tightrope-walker Philippe Petit, was named best edited documentary, with the award going to Jinx Godfrey.
Television winners included "30 Rock: The Reunion," edited by Meg Reticker; "Breaking Bad: Pilot," Lynne Willingham; "True Blood:  Strange Love," Michael Ruscio and Andy Keir; "Recount," Alan Baumgarten; and "24: Redemption," Scott Powell.
For the second year, the awards added a best edited nonscripted/reality series category, and that prize went to "Greensburg: The Tornado," edited by Leonard Feinstein and Phontaine.
The student editing competition winner was Junna Xiao of American Film Institute.
Producer/director Richard Donner was honored as the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year. Mel Gibson, who worked with the director on such movies as "Lethal Weapon" and "Maverick," presenting him with the award.
Lifetime career achievement awards went to industry veterans Sidney Katz and Arthur Schmidt.
Randy Roberts, the new president of American Cinema Editors presided over the evening, which was emceed by actress/comedienne Aisha Tyler.

A complete list of winners can be found on the next page.

Best edited feature film (dramatic)
"Slumdog Millioniare"
Chris Dickens

Best edited feature film (comedy or musical)
Stephen Schaffer

Best edited half-hour TV series
"30 Rock: Reunion"
Meg Reticker

Best edited one-hour series for commercial TV
"Breaking Bad: Pilot"
Lynne Willingham

Best edited one-hour series for noncommercial TV
"True Blood: Strange Love"
Michael Ruscio and Andy Keir

Best edited miniseries or motion picture for noncommercial TV
Alan Baumgarten 

Best edited miniseries or motion picture for commercial TV
"24: Redemption"
Scott Powell

Best edited documentary
"Man on Wire"
Jinx Godfrey

Best edited reality series
"Greensburg: The Tornado"
Leonard Feinstein and Phontaine

Student editing competition
Junna Xiao,  American Film Institute