'Small Axe' Named Best Picture by L.A. Film Critics Association

Micheal Ward and Amarah-Jae St. Aubyn in LOVERS ROCK
Parisa Taghizedeh/Amazon Prime Video

Micheal Ward and Amarah-Jae St. Aubyn in 'Lovers Rock' from 'Small Axe'

Chadwick Boseman, Carey Mulligan, Glynn Turman and Youn Yuh-jung were among those winning acting prizes in the vote, which took place Sunday.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association on Sunday determined their picks for the year's best in film.

Small Axe was tapped as best picture. Chloe Zhao was chosen as best director for Nomadland with Steve Mcqueen as runner-up for Small Axe. Emerald Fennell's Promising Young Woman was selected as best screenplay with Eliza Hittman's Never Really Sometimes Always as runner-up.

Carey Mulligan, Chadwick Boseman, Glynn Turman and Youn Yuh-jung were among the stars who won the acting prizes in the vote. Viola Davis was runner-up to best actress for her performance in Ma Rainey's Black Bottom, whereas Riz Ahmed was runner-up for best actor for his performance in Sound of Metal.

A full list of winners follows.

Best Picture: Small Axe
Runner Up: Nomadland

Director: Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)
Runner-up: Steve McQueen (Small Axe)

Actor: Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)
Runner-up: Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Actress: Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)
Runner-up: Viola Davis (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Supporting Actor: Glynn Turman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)
Runner-up: Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Supporting Actress: Youn Yuh-jung (Minari)
Runner-up: Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Screenplay: Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)
Runner-up: Eliza Hittman (Never Really Sometimes Always)

Documentary: Time
Runner-up: Collective 

Animation: Wolfwalkers
Runner-up: Soul

Foreign-language: Beanpole
Runner-up: Martin Eden

Editing: Yorgos Lamprinos, (The Father)
Runner-up: Gabriel Rhodes (Time)

Production Design: Donald Graham Burt, (Mank)
Runner-up: Sergey Ivanov, (Beanpole)

Music/Score: Soul
Runner-up: Lovers Rock 

Cinematography: Shabier Kirchner (Small Axe)
Runner-up: Joshua James Richards (Nomadland) 

Career Achievement Award: Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film: John Gianvito's Her Socialist Smile

New Generation: Radha Blank, The 40-Year-Old Version

Legacy Award: Norman Lloyd