SOC goes 'Wild' for Jouffret


Jacques Jouffret was recognized for his work on "Into the Wild" on Saturday when he won the Society of Camera Operators' award for Camera Operator of the Year in feature film at the SOC Lifetime Achievement and Camera Operator of the Year Awards presentation.

The SOC also presented director of photography Robert Primes with the Society's President's Award for lifetime achievement in the industry and dedication to the SOC at the ceremony, held at the Goldenson Theater of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences,

Primes won Emmys in 1995 for "Antonia" and in 1999 for "Felicity." He won an American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Award in 2002 for "MDs."

The SOC board of governors award for lifetime achievement in the service of the motion picture industry was presented to industry visionary and Panavision vp Joe Dunton.

Mitch Dubin, whose credits include "Munich" and "Jerry Maguire," was honored for lifetime achievement in camera operating.

The SOC held a memorial tribute to Scott Rathner, whose credits include "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal" and "The Spiderwick Chronicles," for his lifetime achievement as a camera technician.

Francois Duhamel ("There Will Be Blood") was recognized for lifetime achievement as a still photographer; Larry McConkey (Steadicam operator, "Bonfire of the Vanities") was honored for lifetime achievement as mobile camera platform operator; and "The Russian Ark" from Steadicam operator Tilman Buettner earned the best historical shot award.

Technical Achievement Awards were presented to Panavision for the Genesis HD camera system, and Tiffen and Garrett Brown for the Ultra2 Steadicam.

International Cinematographer's Guild past president George Spiro Dibie was honored with the SOC Distinguished Service Award.

Proceeds from the SOC event will go the Eye Care Clinic at Children's Hospital, Los Angeles.