'Social Network' Named Best Dramatic Film at Satellite Awards

"The Social Network"

Facebook film nabs three trophies from the International Press Academy, tying with 'Inception'; HBO's 'Temple Grandin' tops the TV categories.

The Social Network and Inception picked up three trophies each at the International Press Academy's 15th annual Satellite Awards, which were handed out at a luncheon Sunday at the Intercontinental Hotel in Century City.

In the TV categories, the HBO film Temple Grandin took the lead, with three wins, including best motion picture made for television.

Sony's Social Network took the prizes for best motion picture drama; best director, which went to David Fincher; and best adapted screenplay, which was awarded to Aaron Sorkin.

Warners' Inception was singled out for its score by Hans Zimmer, its cinematography by Wally Pfister and its art direction and production design by Guy Hendrix Dyas, Luke Freeborn, Brad Ricker and Dean Wolcott.

The Press Academy, a group of journalists, also named Scott Pilgrim vs. the World best motion picture comedy or musical and gave its comedy actor award to that film's Michael Cera.

Other acting kudos were given to Noomi Rapace, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, best actress in a drama; Colin Firth, The King's Speech, best actor in a drama; Anne Hathaway, Love and Other Drugs, best actress in a comedy; Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom, best supporting actress; and Christian Bale, The Fighter, best supporting actor.

The Swedish Dragon Tattoo also was chosen best foreign-language film. Toy Story 3 was hailed as best animated feature, while Restrepo conquered as best documentary.

In other film awards, Speech earned the award for best original screenplay for its script by David Seidler. Diane Warren's ballad "You Haven't Seen the Last of Me," sung by Cher in Burlesque, was selected best song. The editing award went to Robert Frazen for Please Give.

Alice in Wonderland took home trophies for Colleen Atwood's costumes and its visual effects by Mark P. Stoeckinger, Kevin O'Connell, Beau Borders and William P. Kaplan.

On the TV side, the BBC's Sherlock was named best miniseries, while the top drama series nod went to AMC's Breaking Bad and the comedy series nod to Showtime's The Big C.

Temple Grandin's Claire Danes and David Straithairn received acting awards for their work in that film, and the other two prizes for acting in a TV movie or miniseries went to Al Pacino and Brenda Vacarro for HBO's You Don't Know Jack.

TV series drama honors went to Bryan Cranston for Bad and Connie Britton for Friday Night Lights. The top comedy series acting honors were given to Big C's Laura Linney and 30 Rock's Alec Baldwin.

The group also presented its Mary Pickford Award to Vanessa Williams, its Nikola Tesla Award to Robert A. Harris, its Auteur Award to documentary filmmaker Alex Gibney and its Humanitarian Award to Connie Stevens.