Songwriters Hall of Fame to honor trio

Nod to Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, Eddie Holland

The songwriting team of Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland will be honored with the Johnny Mercer Award at the 2009 Songwriters Hall of Fame Awards dinner June 18 at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel.

The trio has penned tunes for the Supremes, the Four Tops and Marvin Gaye, among other Motown artists, and are often credited with developing the Motown Sound.

Hal David, chairman/CEO of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, said, "Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland's massive stream of classic songs changed the face of popular music in a way that has endured, creating a style that is highly influential and relevant today."

The Johnny Mercer Award goes to a songwriter who has already been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in a prior year and whose body of work is of such high quality and impact that it upholds the gold standard set by the legendary Johnny Mercer.