'Soul,' 'Eurovision Song Contest' Among Society of Composers and Lyricists Award Winners

Soul Still

Spike Lee and Terence Blanchard accepted the Spirit of Collaboration Award at the virtual event on Tuesday night.

Soul, Eurovision Song Contest and The Queen's Gambit were among the high-profile winners at the 2021 Society of Composers and Lyricists Awards on Tuesday night.

The hybrid event, which featured a mix of performances and live acceptance speeches that members of the organization could view as it streamed live online, also honored Spike Lee and Terence Blanchard, who have collaborated on more than 15 films including this years Oscars hopeful Da 5 Bloods, which was nominated for outstanding original score for a studio film.

Introduced by Quincy Jones, Lee and Blanchard even collaborated as they accepted the Spirit of Collaboration Award, with the pair appearing via simultaneous separate video feeds, thanking each other and holding up their awards at the same time.

"We have grown together," Lee said of his many collaborations with Blanchard, adding that some of his favorite parts of making a movie include listening to the many musicians performing the score. "For me, my film isn't complete until your score is in the movie. Let's have many more."

Blanchard was game for more projects with him expressing his appreciation, in particular, for how Lee lists all the musicians who perform in his film in the credits, something Lee said he feels like he has to do. The veteran filmmaker added that he didn't know why some filmmakers "don't reach out to composers until the film is cut," pointing out that Blanchard got his scripts at the same time as the rest of his cast and crew.

The performance-heavy event also featured two performances from Blanchard, as her performed a medley from Da 5 Bloods and teamed up with Kris Bowers, via separate simultaneous video feeds, for a piece from When The Levees Broke, originally directed by Lee.

Soul musicians Trent Reznor and Jon Batiste reflected on their lives and careers as they and Atticus Ross accepted the award for outstanding original score for a studio film via three separate, simultaneous video feeds.

Reznor said the time at home amid the coronavirus pandemic gave him time to reflect on how much music means to him and "how grateful I am that my grandmother made me play piano all of those years ago."

"It helped me figure out who I was and saved my life back then and it's saved my life pretty much every day these days," he said. "I'm very grateful to work in film and it's been such an unexpected and rewarding field to work in."

He reflected on how they got involved with Soul, recalling that the film was wrapping up as lockdown began and they moved onto Mank, as they spent a few months not thinking about the animated film.

"The nice thing about that is when we were able to revisit [Soul], much deeper into lockdown, with the emotional toll it was taking on me and Atticus, to go back and see Soul with a fresh set of eyes outside of the grind of working on it endlessly, it really struck a chord with me emotionally," Reznor said.

Others who appeared at the Michael Giacchino-hosted event included Joker composer Hildur Gudnadóttir, who became the first woman to win the Oscar for best original score last year, as well as, via video, Rita Wilson, Rod Lurie, Hans Zimmer, Jeff Beal and Alexandre Desplat.

A complete list of the second annual Society of Composers and Lyricists Awards winners follows.

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film:
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste - Soul (WINNER)
James Newton Howard - News of the World
Ludwig Göransson - Tenet
Terence Blanchard - Da 5 Bloods
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross - Mank

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film:
Lolita Ritmanis - Blizzard of Souls (Dvēseļu Putenis) (WINNER)
Emile Mosseri - Minari
Sherry Chung - The Lost Husband
Steven Price - David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet
Tamar-Kali Brown - Shirley

Outstanding Original Score for Television or Streaming Production
Carlos Rafael Rivera - The Queen's Gambit (WINNER)
Blake Neely - The Flight Attendant
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq - Lovecraft Country
Ludwig Göransson - Star Wars: The Mandalorian
Martin Phipps - The Crown

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media:
Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus, Rickard Göransson – “Husavik” - Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga (WINNER)
Diane Warren – “Free” - The One and Only Ivan
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “(If Only You Could) Save Me” - Mank
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq, Sonia Sanchez – “Tulsa, 1921: Catch The Fire” - Lovecraft Country
Erran Baron Cohen, Sasha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines – “Wuhan Flu” Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media
Garry Schyman, Mikolai Stroinski - Metamorphosis (WINNER)
Gordy Haab - Star Wars: Squadrons
Ilan Eshkeri, Shigeru Umebayashi - Ghost of Tsushima