Sound editors Reel off noms


The Motion Picture Sound Editors have announced the nominations for their Golden Reel Awards.

For sound editing in the category of dialogue and ADR for a feature film, the nominees are "American Gangster," "The Bourne Ultimatum," "The Bucket List," "Ghost Rider," "Michael Clayton," "No Country for Old Men," "Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End" and "Transformers."

In the feature category for sound effects and foley work, the noms are "3:10 to Yuma," "Gangster," "Ultimatum," "I Am Legend," "No Country," "At World's End," "Spider-Man 3" and "Transformers."

The nominees for music editing in a feature film are "Gangster," "The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford," "The Golden Compass," "The Great Debaters," "Into the Wild," "At World's End" and "Spider-Man 3." In the category of music in a musical feature, "Enchanted," "Hairspray," "Sweeney Todd" and "Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story" will compete.

Feature film animation nominees are "Bee Movie," "Meet the Robinsons," "Persepolis," "Ratatouille," "Shrek the Third," "The Simpsons Movie," "Surf's Up" and "Tekkonkinkreet."

"Atonement," "The Diving Bell and the Butterfly," "Eastern Promises," "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," "The Orphanage," "Redacted" and "Sharkwater" will compete in the foreign film category.

In television, the nominees for dialogue and ADR for shortform TV are "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation," for the episode "Cockroaches"; "ER," "Murmurs of the Heart"; "House," "Human Error"; "Law & Order: Criminal Intent," "Offense"; "Law & Order: SVU," "Paternity"; "Lost," "Greatest Hits"; and "Mad Men," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes."

In the category of music for shortform TV, the winner will come from "Criminal Minds," "True Night"; "Damages," "Tastes Like a Ho Ho"; "ER," "I Don't"; "My Name Is Earl," "Creative Writing"; "October Road," pilot; "Scrubs," "My Musical"; and "Viva Laughlin," pilot.

Winners in these and other categories, as well as special awards for Michael Bay and Bill Wistrom, will be presented Feb. 23 at a ceremony at the Wilshire Grand Hotel.