SPE Networks Asia Launches 'Minute to Win It' on AXN India

Produced in Malaysia, the show extends the NBC Universal franchise.

NEW DELHI -- Sony Pictures Entertainment Networks Asia launched the Indian version of NBC's game show format Minute To Win It Wednesday on the network's AXN India channel.

The show is produced by NBC Universal International in partnership with Malaysian satellite provider, Astro, at NBCU’s production hub in Kuala Lumpur.

AXN India’s Minute to Win It offers contestants the chance to win prize money of up to 10 million rupees (about US$ 220,000) through a series of physical minute-long challenges.

Hosted by Indian actor and VJ Gaurav Kapoor, the show drew 11,550 registrants within the three weeks that registration was open to Indian residents during November 2010. 

“AXN has had previous successes with local productions like Who Dares Wins – India Special and Magic Asia: India, as well as pan-Asian productions like The Amazing Race Asia and Cyril: Simply Magic. I am sure Minute to Win It will also work very well in India.” SPE Networks Asia senior VP and GM Ricky Ow said. 

Minute to Win It is one of our top game show formats and is already sold to 32 territories internationally. Quality of content is critical to the NBC Universal brand and our format business, and we are building a centre of production excellence for Minute to Win It in Asia to ensure delivery of a top-quality show that will bring viewers to AXN in droves," NBCU International Television Production senior VP, Formats, Yvonne Pilkington added.