Spears reduces involvement on new album


Evidently preoccupied with other matters, Britney Spears co-wrote just two of the 12 songs on her upcoming album, according to the track listing released Friday by her label.

"Blackout," her first album in more than four years, will come out in the United States on October 30 via Jive Records, and a day earlier internationally. The street date was moved up two weeks because some tracks have been leaked online.

While pop singers of Spears' ilk usually leave the songwriting to the pros, she was credited on seven of the songs on 2003's "In the Zone," and five on 2001's "Britney."

For the current project, Spears enlisted 23 songwriters. She received credit on "Freakshow" and "Ooh Ooh Baby." The former marks a reunion with Swedish hitmakers Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg, who co-wrote and produced "Toxic," the Grammy-winning tune from Spears' last album.

Karlsson and Winnberg, known professionally as Bloodshy and Avant, also co-wrote and produced the new tracks "Piece of Me," "Radar" and "Toy Soldier."

"Ooh Ooh Baby" was co-written by prolific songwriter Kara DioGuardi, another veteran from "In the Zone," who also co-produced the new song "Heaven and Earth."

Other major collaborators this time included Nate "Danjahandz" Hills on the first single "Gimme More," as well as "Get Naked (I Got a Plan)," "Hot As Ice" and "Perfect Lover."

Whereas "In the Zone" boasted such co-writers as Madonna, Moby, and R. Kelly, the biggest artists helping out on the new album are R&B singer T-Pain ("Hot as Ice") and Pharrell Williams ("Why Should I Be Sad").

Jive is a unit of Sony BMG Music Entertainment, a joint venture between Sony Corp. and Bertelsmann AG.