Spike Lee, Terence Blanchard to Receive Collaboration Honor at Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards

Toni Anne Barson/WireImage; Presley Ann/Getty Images for The Hollywood Reporter

Oscar-winning composers Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross lead the field for the 2nd annual Society of Composers & Lyricists Awards with three nominations for 'Mank' and 'Soul,' along with co-composer Jon Batiste.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) is set to give its Spirit of Collaboration Award to six-time Grammy winning and Oscar-nominated composer Terence Blanchard and Academy Award-winning writer, director and producer Spike Lee.

Blanchard and Lee have jointly worked on 15 films and three TV projects, including Jungle Fever, Malcom X, 25th Hour, Inside Man, When the Levees Broke and in 2018 BlacKkKlansman, which earned Lee the Oscar for best adapted screenplay.

Oscar-winning composers Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross lead the field for the SCL Awards with three nominations for Mank and Soul, along with co-composer Jon Batiste.

That's followed by Blanchard receiving a second accolade with an outstanding score nomination for Da 5 Bloods. Also double-dipping is Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq and Ludwig Göransson, each with two nominations.

The SCL Awards for top honors in scores and songs for visual media will be held virtually on March 2, 2021. Last year’s SCL’s outstanding original score winner Hildur Guðnadóttir for Joker went on to win the Oscar for best score.

In all, five awards will be handed out for music in film, TV, streaming and video games.

A complete list of nominations follows:

Outstanding Original Score for a studio Film:
James Newton Howard - News of the World
Ludwig Göransson - Tenet
Terence Blanchard - Da 5 Bloods
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross - Mank
Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste - Soul

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film:
Emile Mosseri - Minari
Lolita Ritmanis - Blizzard of Souls (Dvēseļu Putenis)
Sherry Chung - The Lost Husband
Steven Price - David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet
Tamar-Kali Brown - Shirley

Outstanding Original Score for Television or Streaming Production
Blake Neely - The Flight Attendant
Carlos Rafael Rivera - The Queen's Gambit
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq - Lovecraft Country
Ludwig Göransson - Star Wars: The Mandalorian
Martin Phipps - The Crown

Outstanding Original Score for Interactive Media
Gordy Haab - Star Wars: Squadrons
Garry Schyman, Mikolai Stroinski - Metamorphosis
Ilan Eshkeri, Shigeru Umebayashi - Ghost of Tsushima

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media:
Diane Warren – “Free” - The One and Only Ivan
Savan Kotecha, Fat Max Gsus, Rickard Göransson – “Husavik” - Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – “(If Only You Could) Save Me” - Mank
Laura Karpman, Raphael Saadiq, Sonia Sanchez – “Tulsa, 1921: Catch The Fire” - Lovecraft Country
Erran Baron Cohen, Sasha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines – “Wuhan Flu” Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Spirit of Collaboration: Terence Blanchard and Spike Lee