Spirit Awards 2015: 'Citizenfour' Wins Best Documentary

Best Documentary

Lauren Poitras' Citizenfour won the documentary award.

The awards show is being co-hosted by Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell.

Citizenfour won the Independent Spirit Award for the best documentary on Saturday afternoon.

The award is given to both the director and producer of the film. Director-producer Laura Poitras and producers Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky took home the statuette for the film, which beat out fellow nominees 20,000 Days on Earth, CITIZENFOUR, Stray Dog, The Salt of the Earth and Virunga to take home the honor.

The Independent Spirit Awards honors exclusively independent films, bringing together top Hollywood talent and independent filmmakers. Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell are co-hosting the 30th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards, which is being broadcast live on IFC.