Spotify Launches in Turkey, Greece, Taiwan, Argentina

The digital music service is now available in 32 countries.

Digital music service Spotify has launched in  four new countries: Taiwan, Argentina, Greece and Turkey.

The latest additions mean the Sweden-based company has now made its music streaming service available in 32 countries.

In Taiwan, Spotify will not offer a free limited service, which limits usage to 40 hours per month, the Next Web blog reported. But an advertising-supported version for streaming via desktop computers will be available in the country, as in other Asian markets, while premium access will be required for mobile and offline use.

Spotify first pushed into Asia in April with service launches in Hong Kong, Malaysia and Singapore. Back then, it also started offering its service in Latin America, with a launch in Mexico.

"Hello Argentina, Taiwan, Greece and Turkey -- Spotify here!" the digital music company said in a blog post announcing the territory launches on Tuesday. "Do you know anyone in Argentina, Taiwan, Greece and Turkey that would love to have the best music for every moment? Send them a song today!"

The digital music landscape has been evolving rapidly. Apple recently launched its iRadio service for iTunes, while Google has been rolling out Google Play Music.

Meanwhile, said Tuesday that its Amazon Cloud Player is now available on the Sonos Wireless HiFi System in the U.K., allowing Amazon MP3 customers to wirelessly listen to their music library throughout their home.

"Our goal is to enable customers to enjoy all their music, wherever they are, and on any device,” said Steve Boom, vp digital music at Amazon. "Launching on Sonos today in the U.K., following the success of Amazon Cloud Player for Sonos in the U.S., is an important part of that strategy."
Twitter: @georgszalai