'Spotlight' Named Best Picture by L.A. Film Critics

Robert Altman Award
Courtesy of Open Road Films


The top acting awards went to Michael Fassbender for 'Steve Jobs' and Charlotte Rampling for '45 Years.'

Spotlight, Tom McCarthy's drama about the Boston Globe reporters who exposed sexual abuse in the Catholic Church, was named this year's best picture by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, edging out George Miller's Mad Max: Fury Road, which was runner-up in the top category. Spotlight, which was written by McCarthy and Josh Singer, also earned took home the award for best screenplay.

Miller, however, claimed best director honors, with Carol's Todd Haynes emerging as runner-up. Mad Max scored two other awards as well: one for John Seale's cinematography and the other for Colin Gibson's production design.

Top acting awards went to Michael Fassbender for playing the title role in Steve Jobs and to Charlotte Rampling, who plays a woman suddenly questioning her longtime marriage in 45 Years. Supporting actor honors were given to Michael Shannon for his role as a foreclosure specialist in 99 Homes and to Alicia Vikander, who appears as a sentient android in Ex Machina.

"I am very pleased that our group selected a wide range of films, from big studio blockbusters to smaller independent films richly deserving of recognition," Stephen Farber, president of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association said in a statement. "Our individual winners covered quite an impressive gamut in terms of age, experience and background."

The winners will be honored during a Jan. 9 ceremony, which will be dedicated to the late Belgian director Chantal Akerman. The event will also see film editor Anne V. Coates, who earned the film-editing Oscar for her work on 1963's Lawrence of Arabia, honored with the group's career achievement award.

The complete list of winners follows:

Picture: Spotlight. Runner-up: Mad Max: Fury Road.

Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Todd Haynes, Carol.

Actor: Michael FassbenderSteve Jobs. Runner-up: Géza RöhrigSon of Saul.

Actress: Charlotte Rampling45 Years. Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn.

Supporting actor: Michael Shannon, 99 Homes. Runner-up: Mark RylanceBridge of Spies.

Supporting actress: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina. Runner-up: Kristen Stewart, Clouds of Sils Maria.

Screenplay: Josh Singer and Tom McCarthy, Spotlight. Runner-up: Charlie Kaufman, Anomalisa.

Animation: Anomalisa. Runner-up: Inside Out.

Foreign-language film: Son of SaulRunner-up: The Tribe.

Documentary/nonfiction film: Amy. Runner-up: The Look of Silence.

New Generation: Ryan Coogler, Creed.

Film editing: Hank CorwinThe Big Short. Runner-up: Margaret SixelMad Max: Fury Road.

Cinematography: John SealeMad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Edward LachmanCarol.

Production design: Colin Gibson, Mad Max: Fury Road. Runner-up: Judy Becker, Carol.

Music score: Carter Burwell, Anomalisa and Carol. Runner-up: Ennio Morricone, The Hateful Eight.

Special citation: David Shepard, for his invaluable work in film preservation, particularly of movies from the silent era.

Lifetime achievement: Anne V. Coates