St. Petersburg Kinoforum Selects 'Best of the Best' for Competition Lineup

Courtesty of Berlinale 2011
"Nader and Simin, a Separation"

Event's main program showcases winning films from previous festivals like "Nader and Simin, A Separation" (pictured) and "She Monkeys."

The St. Petersburg International Film Festival Kinoforum unveiled a competition lineup put together with films that make up the creme de la creme of the international film festival circuit over the past year.

Called the Best of the Best, the main program will consist of seven films that were award winners at other festivals during the past season. The other competition category is called New Territories and includes 10 premieres that represent the cinema of China, France, Iran, Russia, USA, Poland, Spain, Denmark, Croatia and Sri Lanka.

The festival, in its second year, runs from July 10-15 and includes programs for young filmmakers as well as nine non-competitive programs that run the gamut of terrorism to animation to autism.

The festival's stated mission is to use film to create a forum for people to come together and discuss "the most important issues of modern life." Through cinema "a person reveals his soul, often becomes more noble, wise, merciful, starts to better understand other peoples and sees other people's eyes in a different way," said Kinoforum president Alexy German said. "It is in this way that the St. Petersburg Film Festival is destined to unveil the world around for many people. It is as important as life itself."

Russian director Alexandre Sokurov will head up the Youth Campus Metropolis, a new project that aspires to be a "cinema school" for 200 young would-be filmmakers. "...I have already seen works in 'Metropolis' that demonstrate artistic talent," Sokurov said. "And in that sense such training for young filmmakers during the film festival is the first step in the long path that they undertake"

The Kinoforum is a public program that includes outdoor concerts. On July 11 at 6 p.m., a concert will be held in the Alexander Garden, and Music on the Water is scheduled for July 14 from 2-10 p.m. at the aquatorium of the Neva movie theater.

Competition films are:

Best of the Best

Eliza K., directors, Judith Colell, Jordi Cadena; Cast: Aina Clotet, Claudia Pons, Lidia Zimmermann, Hans Richter, Jordi Garcia. Spain 2010. Festival history, San Sebastian, 2010 - Official Section

Curling, dir., Denis Cote; Cast: Emmanuil Bilodo, Filomin Bilodo, Rock Lafortune, Sophie Desmaray, Muriel Dutil, Ani Pasqual Robitail, Joan Haberlin. Canada, 2010. Festival history, Locarno, 2010 – best director, best actor

She Monkeys (Apflickorna), dir., Lisa Aschan; Cast: Mathilda Paradiser, Linda Molin, Isabella Lindquist, Sergej Merkusjev, Adam Lundgen, Sigmund Hovind, Maria Hedborg, Sweden, 2011, Festival history, Berlinale 2011, Generation program; Tribeca Film Festival – best film; Main prize at the Goteborg Film Festival

Por el Camino (Beyond the road), dir., Charly Braun ; Cast: Hugo Arias, Naomi Campbell, Esteban Feune de Colombi, Guilmerina Ginle, Jill Mallidi. Brazil, 2010

Nader and Simin, a Separation, dir., Asghar Farhadi; Cast: Peiman Ma'adi, Leila Hatami, Sareh Bayat. Iran, 2011; Berlinale 2011 -- Golden Bear, prize for acting ensemble

Just Between Us, dir., Rajko Grlić ; Cast: Miki Manojlovic, Kresimir Mikic, Ksenija Marinkovic, Daria Lorenci; Croatia, Serbia, Slovenia, 2010; Karlovy Vary, best director

Oki's Movie, dir., Hong Sang-soo; Cast: Yu-mi Jeong, Seon-gyun Lee, Mun Son-Kyn, Son Ki-Hyon, So Yon-Hva, Chon Chzi-He, Bek Chun-Rim; South Korea, 2010, Venice Film Festival

More festival and jury lineups follow the jump.


New territories:

Black Blood, dir., Miaoyan Zhang; Cast: Danhyi Mao, Mengjuan Liu, Jingjing; China, France, 2010

Gesher, dir., Vahid Vakilifar,; Cast: Khossein Farzizade, Gobad Rakhmaninassab, Abdulrassul Dariapejma; Iran, 2010

Littlerock, dir., Mike Ott ; Cast: Atsuko Okatsuka, Cory Loler, Rintaro Sawamoto, Brett L. Tinnes, Roberto Sanchez, Matthew Fling, Ryan Dillon, Markiss McFadden, Sean Neff; U.S., 2010

Truth About Men, dir., Nikolaj Arcel; Cast: Thure Lindhardt, Tuva Novotny, Lars Mikkelsen, Kim Bodnia, Nicolas Bro, Signe Egholm Olsen; Denmark, 2010

Tribeca Film Festival winner "She Monkeys."

Burnface, dir., Lluis Galter; Cast: Lluis Soler, Aina Calpe, Domenec Bautista, Andrea Carandel, Carles Garcia-Llido; Spain, 2010

Out of Love, dir., Ania Jadowska; Cast: Marta Nieradkiewicz, Wojciech Niemczyk, Daniel Olbrychski, Ewa Szykulska, Anna Ilchuk, Elizabeta Gruza, Mihal Gzibovsky, Silvester Jakimov, Leshek Lihota; Poland, 2010

The Show Must Go On, dir., Nevio Marasović; Cast: Sven Medvešek, Nataša Dorčić, Filip Juričić, Amar Bukvić, Franka Klarić; Croatia, 2010

Pechorin, dir., Roman Khrusch; Cast: Stanislav Ryadinsky, Dmitry Podnozov, Ilya Scherbinin, Irina Savitskova, Alexander Korshunov, Klavdia Korshunova, Mikhail Evlanov, Barbara Sudets, Roxana Kadyrova, Sergey Solonitsyn; Russia, 2011

Flying Fish, dir., Sanjeewa Pushpakumara; Cast: Chaminda Sampath Jayaweera, Gayesha Perera, Rathnayaka Marasinghe, Siththi Mariyam, Sanjeewa Dissanayake, Sumathy Sivamohan, Kaushalya Fernando, Nilanka Dahanayake, Thissa Bandaranayaka, Wasanthy Ranwala, Mohammed Ali Rajabdeen

The Lord's Ride, dir., Jean-Charles Hue; Cast: Frederic Dorkel, Joseph Dorkel, Michael Dauber; France, 2010

The Jurys

Best of the Best

Chairman: Rustam Ibragimbekov, Russia. Azerbaijan National Writer, Honored Arts Worker of Azerbaijan. Honored Arts Worker of Russia, professor, recipient of State awards;

Jurors: Marina Zhigalova-Okzan, Russia, CEO of the Walt Disney Co. CIS; Vadim Zakharov, Germany, painter. Kandinsky Award recipient; Tatiana Tarasova, Russia, honored coach of the Russian Federation. Honored Arts Worker of Russia; Valery Kogan, Canada, President of Toronto Russian Film Festival, Member of the Russian Cinema Club Federation; Svetlana Sorokina, Russia, Television journalist. Member of the Russian Television Academy, three times "TEFI" award recipient.

New territories

Chairman: Ulrich Gregor, Germany, film expert, founder of Berlin Film Festival Forum

Jurors: Dinara Drukarova, France, actress, Cesar award and European Film Award recipient; Jos Stelling, the Netherlands, director/screenwriter, Biennale Creators' Prize recipient; Gregoire Colin, France, actor, Locarno Film Festival Special Prize recipient; Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, Iceland, director/screenwriter/actor, award recipient at festivals in Edinburgh and Troy.

Non-competition programs

Unknown Cinema of the Neutrals: The best non-commercial films of the last decade selected by the young Russian film critics.

Relevant Cinema: Presented by the "Cinema ready to explode" program which summarizes the results of the first decade of the "Age of Terrorism" that started Sept. 11, 2001. Olivier Assayas' Carlos will be shown for the first time in Russia in this program. The film's producer Daniel Leconte will attend the festival.

Kinotavr presents: A unique opportunity to watch the best recent Russian films awarded at the "KiInotavr" film festival.

Retrospective Program: Dedicated to the work of Marlen Khutsiyev, Alexander Rekhviashvili, Naomi Kavase, and Denis Cote.

Geography of the Cinema. Northern Light: About the relationships between a man and the city environment. The special event of this program will be Leningrad Retrospective, a 13-hour film by Alexandre Sokurov. This film was shown just a few times, and never in Russia.

In Contact with Another. Autism: Three films about people who suffer from "autism."

Wind from the East: A program with an Asian flair designed for cinema-addicts.

Animation Night: An evening of animation put on by Disney.

Italian Mosaic: A retrospective of films that represent Italian cinema. The main idea of the project was to show Italian cinema "on the other side" of neorealism when major film directors turned to social comedy

comments powered by Disqus