Berlin Film Festival: Steven Soderbergh's 'Unsane,' Rupert Everett's Directorial Debut Join Lineup

Steven Soderbergh - Getty - H 2016
Getty Images

Steven Soderbergh - Getty - H 2016

Jose Padilha's '7 Days in Entebbe' will also have its world premiere, out of competition.

New features from Steven Soderbergh and Brazilian director Jose Padilha (The Elite Squad) will have their world premieres in Berlin this year. Soderbergh's Unsane, starring The Crown's Claire Foy, and Padilha's 7 Days in Entebbe, with Rosamund Pike and Daniel Bruhl, both secured gala, out-of-competition slots at this year's Berlin International Film Festival, which runs Feb. 15-25.

Berlin announced its final lineup Monday, adding two more titles to this year's competition: Lav Diaz's Philippine drama Season of the Devil and Gael Garcia Bernal-starrer Museum, from Mexican director Alonso Ruizpalacios. Aga, the latest from Bulgarian director Milko Lazarov, will also have its world premiere, out of competition, in Berlin.

Rupert Everett's directorial debut, the Oscar Wilde biopic The Happy Prince, which recently premiered in Sundance, will get a special gala screening in Berlin, out of competition. Everett stars as Wilde in the feature, alongside Colin Firth and Emily Watson. Berlin festival regular Danish director Pernille Fischer Christensen (A Soap, A Family) returns this year with Becoming Astrid, about the life of Pippi Longstocking author Astrid Lindgren.
Berlin Competition
3 Days in Quiberon – Director: Emily Atef (Germany / Austria / France)
7 Days in Entebbe – Director: Jose Padilha (USA / United Kingdom) – Out of competition
Aga – Director: Milko Lazarov (Bulgaria / Germany / France) – Out of competition
Season of the Devil – Director: Lav Diaz (Philippines)
Black 47 – Director: Lance Daly (Ireland / Luxembourg) – Out of competition
Damsel – Director: David Zellner and Nathan Zellner (USA)
Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far on Foot – Director: Gus Van Sant (USA)
Dovlatov – Director: Alexey German Jr. (Russian Federation / Poland / Serbia)
Eldorado – Director: Markus Imhoof (Switzerland / Germany) – Documentary, out of competition
Eva by Benoit Jacquot (France)
Daughter of Mine – Director: Laura Bispuri (Italy / Germany / Switzerland)
The Heiresses – Director: Marcelo Martinessi (Paraguay / Germany / Uruguay / Norway / Brazil / France)
In the Aisles – Director: Thomas Stuber (Germany)
Isle of Dogs by Wes Anderson (United Kingdom / Germany)
Pig – Director: Mani Haghighi (Iran)
My Brother’s Name Is Robert and He Is an Idiot – Director: Philip Groning (Germany / France / Switzerland)
Museum – Director: Alonso Ruizpalacios (Mexico)
The Prayer – Director: Cedric Kahn (France)
The Real Estate – Director: Mans Mansson and Axel Petersen (Sweden / United Kingdom)
Touch Me Not – Director: Adina Pintilie (Romania / Germany / Czech Republic / Bulgaria / France)
Transit – Director: Christian Petzold (Germany / France)
Mug – Director: Malgorzata Szumowska (Poland)
Unsane – Director: Steven Soderbergh (USA) – Out of competition

Berlinale Special
AMERICA Land of the FreeKS – Director: Ulli Lommel (Germany)
The Bookshop – Director: Isabel Coixet (Spain / United Kingdom / Germany)
The Happy Prince by Rupert Everett (Germany / Belgium / Italy)
Gurrumul – Director: Williams (Australia)
The Interpreter – Director: Martin Sulik (Slovak Republic / Czech Republic / Austria)
Monster Hunt 2 by Raman Hui (People’s Republic of China / Hong Kong, China)
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO: async AT THE PARK AVENUE ARMORY — Director: Stephen Nomura Schible (USA / Japan)
The Silent Revolution – Director: Lars Kraume (Germany)
Becoming Astrid – Director: Pernille Fischer Christensen (Sweden / Germany / Denmark)
Usedom – Der freie Blick aufs Meer – Director: Heinz Brinkmann (Germany)
A Journey to the Fumigated Towns – Director: Fernando Solanas (Argentina)

Berlinale Series
Bad Banks – Director: Christian Schwochow; Head writer: Oliver Kienle, based on a concept by Lisa Blumenberg (Germany / Luxembourg)
Home Ground – Creator: Johan Fasting; Director: Arild Andresen (Norway)
Liberty – Creator: Asger Leth; Director: Mikael Marcimain (Denmark)
The Looming Tower – Creators: Dan Futterman, Alex Gibney, Lawrence Wright; Director: Alex Gibney; Written by Dan Futterman, based on the book by Lawrence Wright (USA)
Picnic at Hanging Rock – Director: Larysa Kondracki (episodes 1-3 ); written by Beatrix Christian, Alice Addison (Australia)
Sleeping Bears – Creator and director: Keren Margalit (Israel)
The TerrorShowrunners: David Kajganich and Soo Hugh; Director: Edward Berger (episodes 1-3), (USA)