Steven Spielberg, Barbra Streisand Awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

Steven Spielberg and Barbra Streisand - H 2015
Getty Images

Steven Spielberg and Barbra Streisand - H 2015

James Taylor is also among those that have been awarded the honor.

Director Steven Spielberg, singer James Taylor and multihyphenate Barbra Streisand are set to be awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Obama administration said on Monday. 

Producer Emilio Estefan, singer-songwriter Gloria Estefan and conductor Itzhak Perlman are also among Hollywood notables who will receive the honor on Nov. 24 at the White House. 

Composer Steven Sondheim, who was awarded the honor last year but wasn't able to attend the 2014 ceremony, will be awarded the honor this month. 

"I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor," said the President in a statement. "From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans."

Last year, mogul Oprah Winfrey, actress Meryl Streep, singer Stevie Wonder and anchor Tom Brokaw were among the recipients. Spielberg was in attendance at last year's ceremony. 

The full list of 2015 recipients is here